March Favourites

IMG_1351

I am back! For how long, I guess we’ll find out, but I’m giving blogging another go. After filming YouTube videos for a while now and trying to upload at least once a week, I’ve learned that I really like to ramble and thus, my videos always seem to end up being over 10 minutes. I, for one, am not big on watching super long videos, so other people are probably not super interested in spending 10 minutes of their life watching me sit in front of a camera and talk about products.

THEREFORE, here I am with a blogpost, where everyone will be able to read what I have to say at any speed they’d like.

For those who have no idea whatsoever, who I am. My name is Hillary and I’m from Toronto, Ontario. I’m currently in my fourth year of university and during my free time, I make videos on YouTube. Feel free to check out my channel, Instagram and all in all, just stick around.

Starting off with my first post of 2016, I’m going to be doing a favourites post (yes, that’s favourites, with a ‘u,’ I’m Canadian, after all). This month, like any other month, I find myself having trying a few new things or reverting back to using products I already own and forgot about.

MAKE UP

IMG_1346
Maybelline Lash Sensational Luscious Full Fan Effect Waterproof Mascara

Beginning the post with my current favourite mascara, it’s  the Maybelline Lash Sensational. When this mascara was first released, I wasn’t a fan, maybe because I got the non-waterproof version (my Asian lashes can’t hold a curl unless its waterproof), I just didn’t get the hype over it. It wasn’t until I finally got into the Maybelline Falsies mascara that I decided to give Lash Sensational another go. And, here we are, definitely one of my all time favourite mascaras, as I’m a brows and mascara kind of girl, these are all I need.

Compared to the original lash sensational and lash sensational full fan effect (black pearl?), this has a spike shaped wand while, the other two have a curved wand to hug your lashes. I find that this spike wand makes it easier to reach the inner corners of my eyes and for some reason, gives me more volume and length to my lashes than the originals did. While, I love the originals, I might just like this one a teensy bit more as it coats my lashes a lot better than the originals one do.

IMG_1342
Urban Decay Naked Flushed Cheek Palette in Streak

This is a product that I have had for quite some time now and recently reverted back to using. It makes it so much easier to travel with and comes with a good sized mirror. Urban Decay makes some of my favourite products and this is one of them. All the products in this palette are very buildable and pigment very well to contribute to the look you’re looking for. The magnetic clasp on the packaging isn’t too loose so it provides more trust that it won’t open up when travelling.

IMG_1336
Too Faced Peanut Butter and Jelly Eyeshadow Palette

Ah, yes. The limited edition Too Faced Peanut Butter and Jelly eyeshadow palette. Being a person with brown eyes can prove to be tricky as some shades in this palette may make you look washed out. I, however, am currently into that kind of look. As a palette based off of the shade ‘peanut butter’ that was originally in the Semi-Sweet Chocolate Bar palette, I’m very happy that Too Faced incorporated shades other than brown. These shades allow me to experiment with some colour and not go overboard.

While, I am very in love with this palette and consider it a great purchase, the only downfall I have is the magnetic closure. As stated earlier, my UD cheek palette has a great magnetic closure. This palette, does not have great magnetic closure, I can fling it open if I wanted to and even when its closed, it still feels loose and as if its going to swing open at any given moment.

IMG_1347
Bite Beauty Luminous Creme Lipstick in Pepper

Bite Beauty, is one of my favourite lipstick companies. Not only are they Canadian and from Toronto, just like myself, but they are also handmade lipsticks. These lipsticks are creamy, moisturizing, pigmented and the brand itself consists of so many shades, its hard not wanting your whole lipstick collection to just be Bite.

This is one of those dusty rose lipsticks that I am (still) obsessed with. It gives me a satin finish, while all my other lipsticks give a matte finish. Sadly, this lipstick collection (luminous creme) is discontinued, but don’t fret. Bite launched their new collection ‘Amuse Bouche,’ and Pepper is indeed still a shade in that collection!

SKINCARE

IMG_1335
Garnier Skin Active Micellar Water

Bioderma?! Nope, but what’s better than a dupe LIKE Bioderma, but can take off waterproof makeup?! This baby right here, is a brand new micellar water that has been launched by Garnier. Not only does this one remove waterproof makeup (!!!) but its oil, alcohol, AND fragrance free! As an avid waterproof mascara wearer, I know how difficult it is to remove makeup without it getting into your eye (I’m talking cleansing oil in my eyes with my contacts on, here). This product makes it so much easier for me to redo my eye makeup without having to remove my contacts in the process. Just soak a cotton pad with this, leave it on the eyes for a few seconds and voila!

IMG_1337
Shiseido Benefiance WrinkleResist24 Eye Contour Cream

Eye cream?! Seriously, Hillary. As a 22 year old, I know, you’ll tell me that I’m still fairly young. But hey, there’s no harm in taking precautions, especially when it comes to your face AND your eyes (you’ve only got one). I received this in my Sephora Favorites, ‘Quench Your Thirst,’ kit and my, oh my. This makes my eyes feel well moisturized (been getting those dry patches) AND its not sticky at all. I’m not big on gel eye products so this has definitely been making my morning a lot better. It also consists of a little shimmer so I look more awake in the morning than I usually do. (Praise unto thee.)

IMG_1340
Tatcha Pure One-Step Camellia Cleansing Oil

Oh. My. Goodness. Do not even get me started on how much I love cleansing oils. Ever since I got over my fear that cleansing oils would make my face oilier than it already is, I’ve been obsessed. I have tried dozens of cleansing oils and have had my fair share of loves and dislikes. This cleansing oil comes in such nice packaging (we’re talking wrapped in tissue paper fancy) and the simplicity of the bottle itself is to die for. I love only having to use one pump, at most two pumps just to remove a full face of makeup. While pricey, I am definitely looking at trying more products from Tatcha.

READS

IMG_1348
Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

Onto the last product of my March Favourites is a book that I have read countless times. You know when you just love certain books so much that you could re-read them dozens of times? This is one of those books for me. It’s based on this girl, Emily who’s best friend, Sloane disappears for the summer and all she sends Emily is this list of things to do (basically a bucket list). Emily has no idea where Sloane is but thinks that if she completes the list, it’ll lead her to some sort of clue as to where Sloane is. Along the way of completing the list, she makes friends and ends up having a pretty decent summer.

Basically, if you’re into adventures, romance and teen fiction, chances are you may like this book. But if not, well, you tried!

This concludes my March Favourites for 2016. I hope you enjoyed reading as I have enjoyed typing all this out and taking the photos. If you have any suggestions, feel free to leave them down below.

Until next time,

h.

Instagram: @_hwonggg
Snapchat: @hwonggg
Spotify: https://play.spotify.com/user/_hwonggg
Business: hwong.vids@gmail.com

Products:
Maybelline Mascara | UD Naked Flushed | Too Faced PB&J | Bite Lipstick | Garnier Water | Shiseido Eye Cream | Tatcha Cleansing Oil | Since You’ve Been Gone

2 thoughts on “March Favourites

Leave a Reply

