Fitness

When I was in first year university (4 years ago!), I was motivated to begin working out as a way of exploring my surroundings (I was in England, during this time). After I began running, my mom entered me into running a half marathon, which I unfortunately, did not end up doing but we’ll get to that some other time.

However, since first year, I have made it my goal to eat healthier and to exercise more often. Throughout the years, I have had my ups and downs with working out and figuring out what worked and what didn’t. It has also gotten me to become more confident with my body and to not worry about what others thought about my body because as long as I was happy about it, then nothing else mattered.

IMG_1379
My workout outfit of the day

For the last term of school I really struggled with going to the gym, whether it was my laziness that took over or just finding it too busy with all the new years resolution makers; I was finding more and more reasons not to go. This lead to a great build-up of stress, as working out was how I let go of all the stress and pent up anger I had accumulated. I began losing confidence and not taking as good care of my body as I once had due to this.

As my spiral downward began to take hold, school ended and as the weather improved, I found myself motivated to go for a run or to just begin building up muscle again. I guess you could say my motivation for a ‘beach bod’ came back as the weather warmed.

Since the changing of the weather, I have now gone to the gym for the past two days (going on my third), and have found myself taking longer walks around the city just to breath in the fresh air and to soak up the sun.

With the encouragement and motivation of my friends, I’ve begun doing more weights and squats. Compared to the past few years, I would only concentrate on obtaining the ‘bikini bod’ that everyone is after (through Kayla Itsines’ Bikini Body Guide, which has helped), but lately, I just want to prove my strength and endurance. And, if a ‘bikini bod’ comes along with it, then so be it, as a matter of fact, I wouldn’t even mind.

Today, I did my first deadlift. I had never done a deadlift in my life before, always thinking that it was only for weightlifters and that I would never be able to do it. However, I was able to lift a maximum of 65 lbs, and achieved a few sets out of it too. Slowly, but surely, I’m hoping to be able to deadlift more, and to be able to actually do 5 chin ups (I can only do 1.5, 2 on a good day).

It felt good to be back at the gym and slowly getting back into shape. I’m nowhere near how I want my body to look, but my confidence is rising, just in time for summer!

IMG_1378

All I need for a gym workout:

  1. Loose fitting tops (so I can have some sort of cool down) and any type of bottoms
  2. Sports bra (lets be real here)
  3. Music source (I usually use the cardio playlist on Spotify)
    • Anything works, just upbeat music to keep the flow going
  4. Water bottle (gotta stay hydrated and keep that acne away!)
  5. Socks & running shoes (socks, to absorb your sweaty feet and keep the odour out of your shoes, and well, you need shoes)
  6. Hair ties & bobby pins (gotta keep that hair out of the way)

Until next time,
h.

Instagram: @_hwonggg
Snapchat: @hwonggg
Spotify: https://play.spotify.com/user/_hwonggg
Business: hwong.vids@gmail.com

TOP Community | SPORTS BRA Lululemon | CROPS Lululemon | EARBUDS Sony | PHONE iPhone 6s

2 thoughts on “Fitness

Leave a Reply

