GenBeauty Toronto: Make Up For Ever

IMG_1600

Better late than never, here’s my first post on a couple that will be following on some products that I got at GenBeauty Toronto 2016!

This was hands-down the longest brand that I had to line up for at GenBeauty. It took my friend, Janet and I, 2 hours, TWO. HOURS. until we got to the front. I had heard a lot about what they were giving away from the social networking event the night before but didn’t believe it until I actually got mine.

In order to get your free swag bag, you had to obtain 3 different coloured wristbands that had the MUFE logo on each of them. For the first one, you had to follow them on their Canadian Instagram page, for the second one, you had to take a selfie against the Aqua XL Eyeliner display wall and for the last one, you had to sign their autograph wall. Each person had their own personal artist, which was really awesome because you had their undivided attention. The artist would tell you about their new Aqua XL Eye Pencil Waterproof Eyeliner and create a design on your hand. From there, they would show you 5-6 different eyeshadow duo palettes, and you were able to swatch them and choose which, duo you liked the best.

This ended your session with the artist and they would give you a slip with the eyeshadow duo that was chosen. You would bring this to the swag bag window and they would have people take your slip and get the duo that you chose. Here’s what I got:

IMG_1581

CONTENTS
Aqua XL Waterproof Liner in shades M92 and M10 (full size, $25 CAD at Sephora)
Artist Shadow Custom Eyeshadow Palette with shades D320 and M636 (full size, $25 CAD each pan at Sephora)
Sens’ Eyes Waterproof Eye Cleanser (travel size, $13 CAD at Sephora)

 

giphy
But just how smudge proof are these liners!?

The selling point of the eyeliners are that they’re waterproof and basically smudge proof. From my experience with them, they’re super pigmented and really soft. They retail for CAD $25 each at Sephora. The only downside I see to these liners are that you need to sharpen them instead of twisting them.

IMG_1588
Such a little cute portable case

The eyeshadow duo palette was definitely something that added to the price of this swag bag. At $25 CAD each pan, and the sizes of the pan, MUFE was definitely super generous in their swag bag at GenBeauty. I ended up swatching 4 of the 6 duo palettes until I finally figured out which one I wanted. I chose the ‘Boho Chic’ palette, it consists of M636 which is a matte cappuccino shade and D320, a golden khaki (MUFE considers it a ‘diamond’ shade). As my first introduction to MUFE eyeshadows, I’m really happy with the how pigmented they are and the size of the pans for the price you pay for them.

IMG_1589
Pardon the pun, but I thought this was clever branding

The Sens’Eyes Eye Cleanser is something I’ve wanted to try for a while but could never be bothered to spend money on a separate make up remover that didn’t also include my face. (Realistically speaking, this cleanser could just be used for the whole face instead of just eyes.) However, MUFE, being their generous selves, provided a travel size of the cleanser in their swag bag. As part of the marketing for their new Aqua XL Liners, the liners are basically unable to be removed unless the waterproof eye cleanser is used. The cleanser itself doesn’t leave any film or feel of residue on the skin which, is really nice and its super gentle. So, I would definitely be looking into purchasing a full size of this once I finish this one!

One of the cutest things about the swag bag is the make up bag that was given. I’m completely obsessed with how cute the pouch is with the pastel colours and the size of it. It’s a nice tie-in to the whole Aqua XL Liner collection since there’s such a wide variety of shades to choose from.

IPSY OS Content Creators Swag Bag

IMG_1591
HOW BEAUTIFUL IS THIS POUCH

For the content creators part of Ipsy OS and had the opportunity to attend the social networking party, this was the gift from MUFE in the swag bag. It consists of this really nice black (p)leather(?) pouch with the MUFE lips logo and at the bottom part of the bag it says “Life is a Stage.” The contents within the pouch was none other than generous of MUFE. The pouch consists of:

HD Pressed Powder (travel size, $26 CAD at Sephora)
Step 1 Skin Equalizer Primer in Hydrating Natural Finish (travel size, $20 CAD at Sephora)
– Excessive Lash Mascara (full size, coming out July 2016, ~$25-30 CAD at Sephora)

IMG_1594

I’m a sucker for a good pressed powder to carry around with me all day. I’m more of a sucker for products that come with a mirror. I remember trying the loose HD powder and not liking it, so I’m excited to see how this pressed powder will differ from the loose one. Plus, its a travel size, which makes it so much easier to carry around with me in a smaller bag on a warm summer day.

IMG_1596
Excuse my vein-y hand, I know, I can’t be a hand model.

One of the most spoken about products in the past year have got to be the MUFE primers, with 10 to choose from, you’re bound to find one or even a few for your needs. I currently own the smoothing primer and have definitely seen a difference in my makeup when its being used, so when I got the hydrating one, there is no doubt that I’ll definitely be giving it a shot. It’s a much more fluid consistency compared to the smoothing one, but I’m looking forward to seeing how it fixes my dry patches that I can never seem to get rid of.

IMG_1598

Up and coming (very soon!) in the MUFE collection is this mascara! This coming July, MUFE will be releasing this mascara that’s supposed to give a ton of volume! The formula itself seems a bit dry, compared to the mascaras that I’m used to (Tarte Lights, Camera, Splashes, Maybelline Falsies & Lash Sensational), but it comes with a fibre wand instead of a plastic one. I have yet to try it out since non-waterproof mascaras don’t hold my lashes up very well, so it’ll have to be for a lazy day at home.

What are some MUFE products you would love to try out?

Until next time,
– h.

Instagram: @_hwonggg
Snapchat: @hwonggg
Spotify: https://play.spotify.com/user/_hwonggg
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/thehwonggg
Business: hwong.vids@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

