I bought a fancy waterproof mascara and…

I’ve got the biggest love-hate relationship with mascara. Not only do my Asian lashes struggle to hold mascara, my eyes in general are super picky. When it comes to mascara, I have to use waterproof ones so that the curls will hold, and throughout the day, I may even end up with raccoon eyes because my eyelids get oily. Do you see the struggle yet?

When it comes to Sephora mascara value sets or gifts, the mascaras tend to always be non-waterproof, so even if I want to try a new mascara, I have to wait or even hope for a waterproof version to come out so I’m not wasting my money on a mascara, that I’ll eventually have to return or throw out because my lashes don’t hold the curl.

IMG_1617
Givenchy Tokyo Couture Collection Waterproof Mascara

Here comes in the new Givenchy Couture Collection mascaras, inspired by the fashion capitals in the world: New York, Tokyo and Paris. All three mascaras advertise different functions that they provide, so of course, I splurged and got the Tokyo one, as it was the only waterproof one available. The mascaras retail for $38 CAD each at Sephora.

The Tokyo Noir Couture mascara promotes that it is a 4 in 1 mascara that volumizes, lengthens, curls and takes care of your lashes. Along with its gorgeous and sleek packaging, the weight of the mascara makes it feel so much more luxurious for what you’re paying for. I’m loving the different designs that each of the mascaras have and how unique they are for each city they’re for. Today, I put the mascara to the test.

Starting off with the left eye, I put two coats of mascara on the top and the bottom, it’s pretty evident that there’s some volume there and length. However, it did begin to clump and there was some flaking going on. The right eye only has one coat, while there is less clumping and some lengthening, it still wasn’t enough volume as I would’ve liked and the bottom layer just looks like there’s no mascara on it at all. After the first coat, my curled lashes seemed to droop a bit and uncurl themselves, which is what tends to happen with non-waterproof mascara. However, the second coat seemed to have curled them some more.

IMG_1622
Close up of the wand bristles

Moving onto the wand itself, it’s pretty cute and interesting that its shaped as if there’s three fibre balls held together by the wand. I didn’t find any difference or significant changes when using this wand to apply my mascara, they all seemed to add product to all my lashes. I am, however, not as used to a fibre brush as I used to be (my love for the Tarte Lights, Camera, Splashes lives on). But never the less, the wand did get an even coating on my lashes, it took a little longer than with my usual mascara (Maybelline Lash Sensational Luscious Waterproof) but with a little patience, my lashes were eventually coated.

Then came the waterproof-ness testing. I got a make up remover wipe and gently swiped down on my lashes, while some of the mascara did get wiped off, some still stayed intact, which, is definitely much better than the Maybelline Lash Sensational Luscious that I’m used to, but still not as good as the Tarte Lights, Camera, Splashes. Even though some mascara remained on my lashes, the curls did get undone and my lashes ended up flat.

All in all, I think this mascara is pretty decent but is it worth the $38? Not at all. I may just end up exchanging this for the Tarte Lights, Camera, Splashes which, if you haven’t realized yet, is my holy grail mascara.

IMG_1615

What is a fancy mascara that you would consider splurging on?

Until next time,
-h.

Instagram: @_hwonggg
Snapchat: @hwonggg
Spotify: https://play.spotify.com/user/_hwonggg
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/thehwonggg
Business: hwong.vids@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

