Colourpop Massive Haul 2016

If you’re wondering what I mean by massive, well, I guess you’ll have to keep reading. For me, ordering from Colourpop was a big deal, from hearing such good things about them to seeing how much shipping would cost, I knew that if I wanted to order from them, it had better been a big order to make it worth it.

Breaking down how much I actually paid for shipping, their shipping works between price ranges, it’ll go from $10 USD to $20 USD and then seems to stop at around $30-35 USD. So, I had accepted the fact that my shipping would be between $30-35 USD. After my package arrived in Canada, the border agency charged me $45 on top what of what I had already paid for shipping and the package itself. Being as big an order as it was, I decided that paying for it was the only way my package would get to me. Besides the additional charge on the package, it only took about 2 weeks to get to me, which, realistically is not that long because they’re usually only delivered during business days/hours.

Here is a break down of everything I purchased:
*Of course I didn’t realize that basically all the shades I got were similar and fall into the neutrals category…

1. Jenn Im X Colourpop: Jenn Ne Sais Quoi Quad

IMG_1742
Jenn Im X Colourpop. Jenn Ne Sais Quoi Quad.
IMG_1740
Jenn Im X Colourpop. From left to right: Un, Deux, Trois, Quatre.

Basically, the whole thing that set off this order frenzy was this collection. I’m not a super fan of Jenn Im by any means, but I am a fan of her and Claire Marshall (aka HeyClaire) who did her make up for the shoot. The want for the collection may have sparked a bit more after watching the behind the scenes Snapchat footage on both their Snap Stories.

The eyeshadows themselves are fairly neutral, I will admit that I like how ‘Trois’ is a reddish-brown, which sets the collection apart from the other collections I have that are all towards the neutral spectrum. As a person who likes her eyeshadows mostly matte, I like how there was only one shimmer in the collection. It’s super easy to combine different colours to set up different looks or to just wear each colour by themselves.

2. Jenn Im X Colourpop: Lippies

IMG_1755
Jenn Im X Colourpop. From left to right: Dohee, ultra satin lip & Jenneration X, matte x lippie stix.

While, I found the lippies to be more on the bold side of things, and something I wouldn’t commonly wear, I thought I would give it a try. After applying them, it was a big realization that they were not for me. It might’ve been something I was not used to seeing myself wear or it just didn’t look good on me. ‘Dohee’ as a liquid lipstick was nice, it applied easily and the formula wasn’t dry at all. However, I did find it fairly difficult for the product to be evenly spread out as I was still able to see my natural lip colour after a few swipes.

‘Jenneration X’ being a lippie stix in matte x, I found it really easy to apply and super pigmented. I really like how the packaging is retractable and you don’t have to worry about carrying a sharpener around or anything, the lipstick can also act as a lip liner which, basically makes it a 2-in-1 for me. But once again, the colour came off very orange on me and it’s something I’m not used to.

3. Karreuche X Colourpop: KaePop Quad

IMG_1743
Karreuche X Colourpop. KaePop Quad
IMG_1772
Karreuche X Colourpop. From left to right: Sunset Blvd, Beverly, Crenshaw, Wilshire.

I remember this collection coming out when I first started looking into Colourpop. I really like how Karreuche incorporated more shimmers into her collection. I found them to be fairly subtle and still as something I would wear. While, still neutral and similar to the ‘Jenn Ne Sais Quoi’ quad, this collection is more on the purple-brown side of things.

4. Jaime King X Colourpop: Alchemy Set

IMG_1750
Jaime King X Colourpop. Alchemy Set.
IMG_1779
Jaime King X Colourpop. Super shock cheek, from left to right: Pretty Bonnes, The Golden Child, Thames.
IMG_1773
Jaime King X Colourpop. Super shock shadows, from left to right: Alchemy, Vanity Fair, Knight.

The one thing I love about this collection was that it came in a set with both cheek products and eyeshadows. While, the blush and highlight remind me of the Urban Decay Naked Flushed palette, I do like that I can take whichever one individually. I would most likely use ‘The Golden Child’ as an eyeshadow over a bronzer/blush because its way too shimmery for my liking.

The eyeshadows are very basic, just three colours that can be used interchangeably. While, ‘Alchemy’ mostly seemed like a bunch of shimmer/glitter to me, it would work very well with a matte eyeshadow if you want the eyeshadow to have shimmer in it. I don’t see myself really using ‘Knight,’ unless I wanted to do the smudged eyeliner look or use it a bit just to smoke out the eyes.

5. KathleenLights X Colourpop: Super Shock Shadows

IMG_1784
KathleenLights X Colourpop. From left to right: Glow, Cornelious, Weenie, KathleenLights, Porter, Blaze)

KathleenLights is someone I really look up to on YouTube, I like how down to earth she is and speaks her opinion. When her second collection launched, I knew these were products that I wanted to get my hands on. While, I couldn’t get these shadows in their quads because they were sold out, I was able to get the ones I wanted most individually. These colours remind me a lot of the Viseart Theory Palette in 02 Minx with the gold and red/bronze shimmer colour. These take on a totally different take on neutral shades for me, which has got me trying something new for once.

6. Colourpop Lippie Stix

IMG_1785
Colourpop Lippie Stix. From left to right: Aquarius (KathleenLights X Colourpop), Blaze (matte), Ellarie (matte), Chateau (matte x).

Since I didn’t get too many lip products, I thought I would just combine them all together. My favourite ones are definitely the more nude shades like ‘Aquarius’ and ‘Blaze.’ While ‘Aquarius’ is a cream/satin finish, ‘Blaze’ is a nude finish. All the lippie stix apply very easily and are retractable. I like that they’re a skinnier shape so you have more control over how much is applied and where on your lips. I have yet to wear ‘Ellarie’ and ‘Chateau’ out, not because I’m waiting for Fall to come but because I haven’t figured out the right outfit for them yet. (soon…I’ll figure it out)

7. Colourpop Super Shock Shadows

IMG_1788
Colourpop Super Shock Shadows. From left to right: Wattles, Birthday Boy, Hustle, Coconut, Luckfully.

After constant comparing of swatches and looking at the many eyeshadows that Colourpop produces, these were the ones I narrowed it down to that weren’t in a collaboration of some sort. ‘Wattles’ being part of their Summer 2016 collection, it was something I looked at and realized how much I liked it, while it is shimmery, I like how its a fairly neutral colour and I can combine it so easily with any of my eyeshadows.

‘Birthday Boy’ was a gift from Colourpop as they were celebrating their anniversary, it looks very much like a duo-chrome eyeshadow, which is super cool, I have yet to try it out but I’m sure it’ll be a big hit. ‘Hustle’ was during my ‘burgundy-purple’ eyeshadow/smoky eye phase where I just wanted a darker purple shade for a more ‘washed out’ look. I settled on this one because it wasn’t anything I owned in my collection. Deciding on a type of blue shadow took a bit longer than the rest, which is why I settled on two. I watched Jenn Im’s tutorial where she used blue eyeshadow and it inspired me to try it out, so I chose two different types of blue, a more green-blue (‘Coconut’ from the Summer 2016 collection) and a darker blue (‘Luckfully’). I have yet to create a look with these shades, but be sure to see the video on my Youtube channel soon!

8. Colourpop Ultra Matte Liquid Lip

IMG_1789
Colourpop Ultra Matte Liquid Lip. Next to eyeshadows (see #7), from left to right: Bad Habit, More Better.

After mentioning my thoughts on ‘Dohee’ from the Jenn Im X Colourpop collaboration, I couldn’t continue my order without adding a few other liquid lipsticks that weren’t part of the collaboration. How I only ended up ordering two and them both being fairly similar and bold colours, I have no clue. But, I will say that ‘More Better’ is definitely darker than ‘Bad Habit’. While, I’m not sure how much I like wearing them, I will say that the application is very smooth and I like how easy it is to place the applicator back into the container without having the product squeeze out like how it does for some liquid lipsticks.

All in all, I’m really happy with my purchase, I probably would’ve ordered more nude shades for liquid lipsticks and less eyeshadows since many seem to be similar shades. But, I am really happy with the quality of them and how fast my order came. While, the eyeshadows apply the best and most pigmented when fingers are used rather than brushes, I do like how easy they are to blend and how buttery they are. The lippie stix are definitely something I would re-purchase and try more of.

Until next time,
– h.

Instagram: @_hwonggg
Snapchat: @hwonggg
Spotify: https://play.spotify.com/user/_hwonggg
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/thehwonggg
Business: hwong.vids@gmail.com

DISCLAIMER: All products are purchased with my own money and opinions are my own.

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Colourpop Massive Haul 2016

    1. The $45 I was charged was for the customs/border fee. It was a huge order so it makes sense that I was charged this. I find that it’s usually hit or miss when it comes to custom and border charges.

      Like

Leave a Reply

