Worth the hype? Kylie Lipkits, reviewed.

It’s no surprise that the Kardashian-Jenner’s are huge in Hollywood and everyone wants to know what each and every single one of the Kardashian-Jenner clan are up to these days. When it comes down to each member, they’re all doing their own individual thing.

Kylie Jenner, is working on her make up line, Kylie Cosmetics. The first launch of her lipkits sold out in under 5 minutes and everyone went crazy, as the months continued, she began to launch more and more shades, and continued to restock about once a week, selling out in less than 30 minutes each time. (Some products are still in stock on the site!)

IMG_1805
In frame (Left to Right): Exposed & Dolce K

Looking into the hype, I decided that it was time to try out some of her products. I purchased 3 matte liquid lipkits, ‘Exposed,’ ‘Candy K,’ and ‘Dolce K.’ I, however, felt that I needed some sort of comparison for her products, so I purchased a gloss, in the shade that if I were to wear one, would most likely be ‘Literally.’ Each lipkit costs $29.00 USD (liquid lipstick + matching lipliner) and the glosses cost $15.00 USD. The shipment didn’t take too long, I would say it took about 2-3 business days to ship after ordering and about a week to arrive after it shipped. For me, shipping on my two orders were both $14.95 USD. I’m not sure if this is the standard shipping cost or if it increases depending on how many products are purchased, but if it were standard, then it would definitely be more worth it if more products were purchased at once.

IMG_1811
Kylie Lipkit in ‘Exposed’

Getting down to it, the matte liquid lipsticks have lasted on my lips for 5+ hours and have not smudged at all. I can happily go on my way with drinking Starbucks or eating full messy meals and not having to worry about if my lipstick has wiped off or has smudged in any way because I know it’s still there, just the way it was when I first left the house. I have no idea if the lipliner is magical or not, but my friends seem to realize that I actually have lips when I use it (I don’t consider myself to have full lips, but they’re pretty evidently there…) The only downside to the lipliners is that they’re not retractable and need to be constantly sharpened.

IMG_1793
From left to right: Literally (Gloss), Candy K, Exposed, Dolce K

While my favourite is definitely ‘Candy K,’ the lipsticks do last for a very long time. I find ‘Exposed’ to be a little too light for me, because of course, I have no idea what my natural lip colour is. But ‘Dolce K,’ comes off very grey-toned for me, which is something I just do not enjoy. I thought it would a lot more like Kat Von D’s ‘Lolita’ but it came off as a very grey-ish brown nude.

IMG_1834
From left to right: ‘Lolita’ (Kat Von D), ‘Dolce K’ (Kylie Lipkit), ‘Lolita II’ (Kat Von D), ‘Candy K’ (Kylie Lipkit), ‘Double Dare’ (Kat Von D)

As all tubes of liquid lipsticks go, the applicator always pushes up some product when being placed back into the tube, which is a bummer because you have the possibility of product oozing out and wasting it because it can’t seem to stay down. (Here’s to hoping, manufacturers figure out how to reduce this from happening)

IMG_1817
Kylie Gloss in ‘Literally’

Moving onto the gloss, I’ve never been a fan of gloss, but I thought I’d give it a go since it looked really nice when layered and even by itself. I purchased the gloss after they fixed the problem with the brush fraying and being too long, so my brush is perfectly short and pointed and doesn’t go all over the place. The product however, is super thick and pigmented, but also very sticky. In my opinion, the gloss smells like chocolate milk. The one thing I definitely hate about glosses is how sticky it gets and how much of my hair gets stuck in it when there’s a breeze going, because let’s be honest, I ain’t ever tying up this lion mane of mine.

Many in the beauty community have commented on how similar the Kylie lip products are to Colourpop, in my opinion, the Kylie lip products, specifically the liquid lipsticks are much more pigmented and dry faster than the Colourpop products. I haven’t looked into the ingredients of the two but I have also read that they are very different ingredients to make the two liquid lipsticks. While the Kylie lip products smell very sweet (think Lipsmackers), the Colourpop lip products sometimes smell minty or like plastic.

When it comes down to it, I will give it to Kylie for creating a super long-lasting liquid lipstick. While the product does come with a price tag, I do enjoy using it. I feel like you could find similar products for a cheaper price, I just have yet to do the research for that. I will, thus, continue my search for a lip gloss that I actually can tolerate.

Do you have any lip glosses or liquid lipsticks that you enjoy using?

Until next time,
– h.

Instagram: @_hwonggg
Snapchat: @hwonggg
Spotify: https://play.spotify.com/user/_hwonggg
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/thehwonggg
Business: hwong.vids@gmail.com

DISCLAIMER: All products are purchased with my own money and opinions are my own.

4 thoughts on “Worth the hype? Kylie Lipkits, reviewed.

Leave a Reply

