Let’s Talk Skincare. MyChelle’s Got You Covered.

There’s about nothing else you need to know about me besides how sensitive I am about my skin, specifically my face. When it comes to skincare, I’m still struggling to find the perfect skincare routine and the products that should be incorporated into it. As someone who suffered from acne on her forehead to it currently being present on her cheeks, I have clearly not found the perfect routine for me yet.

In comes MyChelle Dermaceuticals with their skincare. I was lucky enough to be sent a few products to try out from them and for the past two weeks I’ve really been loving some and not so much to the others. Something that’s really awesome about their packaging is that the moisturizer and serum bottles are all glass, making the products feel super luxurious.

MyChelle is a company that promotes their products to be ‘vegetarian, cruelty-free, and free of phthalates, parabens, sulfates, ureas, artificial fragrances and colors, petroleum, GMOs, and gluten.’

They’ve recently begun selling in Canada at Murale (Shoppers Drug Mart version of Sephora), but prior to that sell at Whole Foods or Sprouts Farmers Market in the USA. So, with all that being said, let’s get into the products that I’ve been trying out.

img_2959
MyChelle Dermaceuticals Refining Sugar Cleanser, $32 CAD/$25 USD

Refining Sugar Cleanser (3.5 fl oz/104 mL)

This cleanser is hands down my favourite product from all the products that I received. It acts as a multitasker, beginning as an exfoliator from the refined sugar that the cleanser consists of. After the sugar has dissolved, the cleanser becomes foamy and cleans the whole face. My face ends up feeling super smooth and clean after I use this. It doesn’t dry out the skin due to the foaming action.

When using, I only use about a dime size, not much is needed and since the sugar dissolves and the cleanser foams, it’s easy to cleanse your whole face with the smallest amount of product. If you recall the scent of those plastic rainbow sprinkles, this is basically what the cleanser smells like. It’s suggested for people with normal skin, but for someone with combination-oily skin, I find that it keeps my face matte and fresh feeling.

I would definitely repurchase this cleanser now that it’s a lot easier to access in Canada. I love that it works as a two-in-one and doesn’t strip my face and leave it feeling dry and parched.

img_2954
MyChelle Dermaceuticals, Perfect C Serum 17%, $56 CAD/$44 USD

Perfect C Serum 17% (0.5 fl oz/15 mL)

This serum is suggested for morning use after cleansing. Not much is needed as seen in the photo above, one pump is all you need. The serum is used to reduce fine lines and wrinkles on your face. While, I haven’t gotten to the point in my life where those are very apparent, there’s no harm in taking precautions. This serum soaks into my skin really fast and I find that it minimizes the appearance of my acne scars.

In my opinion, the serum smells like chrysanthemum or some other floral scent with a slight herbal smell. While, the scent did bother me in the first few days of using the serum, it quickly went away as it was absorbed into my skin.

img_2952
MyChelle Dermaceuticals Remarkable Retinal Serum, $60 CAD/$47.50 USD

Remarkable Retinal Serum (1 fl oz/30 mL)

Another product that I very much so enjoyed using. This was used at night after cleansing. With 1-2 pumps, that’s all you really need; I found 2 pumps to sometimes be too much so even 1.5 pumps would be enough. This left my face slightly more tinged with yellow than my undertones already provide, but since I was going to bed, I did not mind at all.

It consists of the same scent that the Perfect C Serum 17% has. This serum is meant to minimize the appearance of wrinkles, correct skin tone, help treat acne, oily skin and provide skin with a smooth feel. At night, depending on how I feel my skin is behaving, I would use 1 pump on nights where my skin looked decent and 2 pumps for when I felt my skin needed it. Either way, I found myself waking up in the morning to my acne scars becoming less and less visible. While, they are still visible on my face, they have faded quite a bit and I haven’t broken out as often as I did prior to using these products.

For the price, it is fairly steep for a small bottle, but after I use up my bottle, I may just repurchase it after seeing how my acne scars have faded in just two weeks!

img_2955
MyChelle Dermaceuticals Supreme Polypeptide Cream, $70 CAD/$56 USD

Supreme Polypeptide Cream (1.2 fl oz/35 mL)

This is the only product out of what I received that I did not enjoy at all. I’m always up for looking for a new moisturizer to use, especially as winter’s on its way over to Canada. However, I found that this made my skin super oily. The cream is meant to reduce the appearance of wrinkles, improve skin elasticity, skin tone and firmness. However, I was unable to wear this product by itself. After putting on the moisturizer, I found myself reaching more and more for a mattifying powder or foundation to cover up how oily and shiny it made my skin look and feel.

It is recommended to be applied to the face and neck twice daily after cleansing, however I found applying once was more than enough for me. I thought it would’ve absorbed and left a matte look on my face but it left a sheen on my face that I wasn’t too fond of. I found myself reaching for a powder to cover up how it looked but the feel of it didn’t sit well with me.

When it comes down to it, I really enjoyed using the cleanser and serums. My hunt for the perfect skincare routine continues, but I know I’ll definitely be sticking around and looking up more MyChelle products to try out.

Have you ever tried any products from MyChelle Dermaceuticals? What are your thoughts on skincare products?

Until next time,
– h.

Instagram: @_hwonggg
Snapchat: @hwonggg
Spotify: https://play.spotify.com/user/_hwonggg
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/thehwonggg
Business: hwong.vids@gmail.com

Be sure to follow me here: Follow my blog with Bloglovin

DISCLAIMER: Products were sent to me for review. However, all opinions and thoughts are my own.

 

Leave a Reply

