Ain’t Got Nothing on These Palettes: Buxom 6-Pan Customizable Eyeshadow Palettes

A few weeks ago, I got my hands on a Buxom Customizable Eyeshadow palette, and since that occurrence, I’ve added not one, but three more palettes to my collection. In total, I’ve acquired four of these Buxom palettes.

These are the first products I’ve ever purchased from Buxom, and I will admit that yes, I know four palettes is a lot. BUT, they have such a wide selection of eyeshadows, I just couldn’t help myself!

For $50 CAD/$40 USD, you can get yourself a 6-pan customizable eyeshadow palette with 6 individually chosen eyeshadows. The eyeshadow pans retail for $15 CAD/$12 USD on their own, and the palettes retail for $16 CAD/$13 USD on their own. So, you’re basically saving yourself $56 CAD/$45 USD for customizing your own palette!

fullsizeoutput_8a40
Buxom 6-pan Customizable Eyeshadow Palette, $50 CAD/$40 USD, Sephora.ca 

Breaking it down, I realistically should have gone in store to swatch all the shadows but having so many to choose from can be difficult when you only have so many fingers and arm space to swatch all the shades. The Sephora location closest to me is also fairly small and doesn’t carry much so I decided to test my luck.

The packaging of the cases feels super sturdy. It comes with a really really small brush, that I don’t think I’ll have much use of unless I’m in dire need. Buxom has a couple of different styles for the palettes, but the ones that I got all have this cool diamond/crystallization pattern. The presentation of the palette makes it so easy to change the shadows. There’s a locking mechanism click at the bottom right of the case and all you need to do is pull out the strip that your eyeshadows sit in.

fullsizeoutput_8a43
Buxom 6-pan Customizable Eyeshadow Palette

The eyeshadows click when they lock into place along the strip, and there is a window that they slide into in the palette keeping them in place.

Breaking down the four palettes:

Palette 01

fullsizeoutput_8a32
Left to Right: Famous Flirt, Minx Magnet, Gimme Gorgeous, Star Treatment, Silver Screen, LBD

Curating these palette was possibly one of the most frustrating and fun things I found with purchasing four palettes. I had no idea how I wanted to organize all my shades and how I wanted them placed. I ended up finding inspiration in the Natasha Denona ‘Eyeshadow Palette 5‘ palettes. I’m not at the point in my life where I can justify purchasing one of the palettes, so I decide to find inspiration in sorting the eyeshadow shades that I purchased from them.

fullsizeoutput_8a33
Swatches (left to right): Famous Flirt, Minx Magnet, Gimme Gorgeous, Star Treatment, Silver Screen, LBD

The swatches themselves are very nicely pigmented, I didn’t find much trouble when swatching. Compared to other shadows I own, they did feel a little bit chalkier and not as buttery as some shadows I own. Nonetheless, even without primer, they came out very well. LBD, I expected to be very black when swatched but it came out a little patchy, but with packing on the shade, it would definitely come out as a matte black.

I chose to curate this palette as its a much more neutral/nudes palette. With the wide variety of eyeshadows that I purchased, I wanted each palette to have a few dark, a few neutrals that I could use as a simple everyday and some shimmers. I wanted to make sure that I’d be able to achieve a daytime and nighttime look with each palette.

Palette 02

fullsizeoutput_8a34
Left to Right: Diamond Darling, Rose Gold, Style Icon, Bronzed Bod, VIP, Spoiled Sexy

I like to call this palette my fall palette because ‘Bronzed Bod,’ reminds me so much of terracotta and orange, which, lets face it, screams Fall. ‘Rose Gold’ is a lot more bronze-y than I expected but the undertone of it is pretty fuchsia when removing it off with a makeup wipe. This palette consists of shades that I usually wouldn’t reach for but just looking at all of them makes me want to create something super Fall looking from them.

fullsizeoutput_8a35
Swatches (left to right): Diamond Darling, Rose Gold, Style Icon, Bronzed Bod, VIP, Spoiled Sexy

These swatched super well and I love how pearly ‘Diamond Darling’ looks. You can definitely see the pink in the edges of ‘Rose Gold’ and ‘VIP’ didn’t swatch as bright as it looks in the palette. What shocked me was how pigmented ‘Bronzed Bod’ was and how little product you needed for it to come out looking like the swatch.

Palette 03

fullsizeoutput_8a36
Left to Right: Champagne Buzz, Lingerie Lover, Invite Only, Big Spender, Bold Bling, Wild Nights

If I had to choose one palette out of these four that I couldn’t live without for the rest of my life, it would hands-down be this one. I actually love how I curated this one so much. It might be because I’ve been loving the pink/purple tones this season or just how nude the palette is and how ‘Wild Nights’ adds some fun into the tones.

fullsizeoutput_8a38
Swatches (left to right): Champagne Buzz, Lingerie Lover, Invite Only, Big Spender, Bold Bling, Wild Nights

Once again, these swatched super well and are really pigmented. This palette makes me realize that I could use this all year long and it would be appropriate for every season, no matter which combination I came up with. This palette might even speak to me (that’s saying a lot), I may just love it so much because ‘purples bring out the brown eyes’ or because it tends to have shades of brown, which are mostly what I’m accustomed to.

Palette 04

fullsizeoutput_8a39
Left to Right: Luxe Life, Pure Platinum, Lacy Chic, Patent Leather, Hot or Yacht, Cool Caviar

This is definitely my most daring palette. I’ve never been one for blue hues, it may be from a traumatization that was induced by my sister applying blue eyeshadow on me at a young age or…well, that’s probably what it is. But, after watching a Jenn Im video of her using blue eyeshadow, I can’t help but be inspired of the looks that came be created with blue eyeshadows on people with brown eyes. Thus, here we have this blue toned palette.

fullsizeoutput_8a3a
Swatches (left to right): Luxe Life, Pure Platinum, Lacy Chic, Patent Leather, Hot or Yacht, Cool Caviar

The pigmentation in ‘Luxe Life,’ oh boy. The swatch in the photo above is LITERALLY one swipe. I’m loving how well this palette turned out because I basically eyeballed all the shades together without swatching them prior to. ‘Pure Platinum’ has a little bit of iridescence to it and comes out a little periwinkle-blue toned and I think the placement that it just so happens to be in pairs up with ‘Luxe Life’ and ‘Lacy Chic’ so well. ‘Patent Leather’ came out a lot more purple than I was expecting, I was expecting more brown but after being swatched, its more of a plum shade.

All in all, I really love how I curated the palettes (such an ego-boost on my part), it was really fun and just seeing the finished products of all the palettes put together was really cool. I would definitely curate these palettes for presents for friends at some point in my life. I think it would make a really thoughtful and personal gift.

Would you ever want to curate your own eyeshadow palette?

Until next time,
– h.

Instagram: @_hwonggg
Snapchat: @hwonggg
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/thehwonggg
Business: hwong.vids@gmail.com

Be sure to follow me here: Follow my blog with Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “Ain’t Got Nothing on These Palettes: Buxom 6-Pan Customizable Eyeshadow Palettes

  1. Awesome!! Buxom are terribly underrated! They have some really killer duo chromes. I always end up with a swatch of both “No Faux” and “Room Service” on my hand. Great review, awesome palettes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

