Everlasting Love for Lipstick: Kat Von D Lipsticks Reviewed

If there’s one lip shade that I love, it’s a good nude (if you haven’t noticed). I love how I can wear them all day and all night long and it can still have an effect on my look. Whether it’s a daytime everyday or a night time glam, a nude can always bring the look together and allow me to play up my eyes or my contour without having to change the shade. A good nude shade also makes it a lot easier for me to only have to carry one lip product with me at all times and save me from being too indecisive.

Kat Von D is someone that I’ve been following since her Miami Ink days (circa 2005) and from my love of her tattoo art and style to her creating a makeup line, I’ve always looked up to her as a sort of role model. She’s a big advocate for cruelty-free products and has strived to perfect her beauty line with cruelty-free ingredients and to ensure that they are available to anyone.

As of current, the only Kat Von D products I own are her lipsticks, her Lock-It Creme concealer and her Tattoo Liner. I’m hoping to pick up the Kat Von D Vault when it releases later this week, but until then, I thought I would share a review on the lipsticks from her Kat Von D Beauty collection that I own.

img_3120
Kat Von D LE Studded Kiss Lipstick (left to right): Double Dare, Lolita II

 As of current, I own 4 of the Everlasting Liquid Lipsticks and 2 of the Studded Kiss lipsticks. The Studded Kiss lipsticks are the limited edition versions of Double Dare and Lolita II. I’ve mentioned in my ‘Top 5 Go To Nude Lipsticks‘ post that the liquid lipstick in Lolita II is one of my go-to’s but the formulation is so great that I had to pick up more.

Each liquid lipstick retails for $24 CAD/$20 USD and the Studded Kiss lipstick retails for $26 CAD/$21 USD at Sephora. In each liquid lipstick, it consists of 0.22 oz/6.6 mL of product and in each Studded Kiss lipstick, it consists of 0.10 oz/3 g of product.

1. Project Chimps

fullsizeoutput_8a55
LE Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Project Chimps, $24 CAD/$20 USD

This is possibly the only red that I feel like I can wear on a daily basis and have it still look like a natural lip on me. I love how its more on the terracotta side of reds, so it has hints of brown but it’s still subtle. This shade launched as a collaboration with a nonprofit organization, Project Chimps, to work towards the stop against using chimps as research and to move them to a sanctuary. For every Project Chimps lipstick sold, 20% of the retail price went to the nonprofit.

For someone like me who saves bright or bold lip colours for special occasions, I really wish I picked up another one of this lipstick because it supports something that I believe in and it is such a nice shade that I would definitely miss it when I run out of my tube.

2. Lolita II

fullsizeoutput_8a52
Everlasting Liquid Lipstick & LE Studded Kiss Lipstick in Lolita II

As mentioned in my ‘Top 5 Go To Nude Lipsticks,’ I prefer this one over the original Lolita as this one is more pink than Lolita, which I found to be more grey.

Something I love about the liquid lipstick formulation is that they’re so creamy and easily glide onto your lips. They also don’t take a lot of time to dry which makes it super easy for on the go. While, I don’t recommend applying this in a moving vehicle, it does make it easy for a last minute application before running out of the house.

I’m always skeptical when it comes to a liquid lipstick being transformed to a solid version of itself. But, I’ve jumped on the bandwagon and completely support this transformation of a liquid lipstick into a solid lipstick. When it was announced that KVD Beauty was releasing a solid version of this lipstick in silver packaging, it was one of those ‘I had to have it’ moments. Not only is the packaging of the product gorgeous, but the formulation of it is also really good. I can see why the Studded Kiss lipstick in Cathedral was such a best seller. As a solid lipstick, I can definitely apply this in a moving vehicle and its so easily distinguishable by the studded packaging.

3. Double Dare

fullsizeoutput_8a51
Everlasting Liquid Lipstick & LE Studded Kiss Lipstick in Double Dare

This is one of the later additions I have to my Kat Von D lipstick collection, I really like how its more pink, as Sephora calls it ‘cocoa blush.’ It adds more pink tones to my collection as the rest are more of a grey/terracotta hue.

The formulation of the liquid lipsticks make it super easy to be reapplied throughout the day. While its super pigmented, the inner part of my lip tends to wear off as the day goes on, all I need is a little more product on the inner part of my lip, and a little rub of my lips for it to be blended in with the rest of the product that still remains.

4. Lolita

fullsizeoutput_8a5a
Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Lolita, $24 CAD/$20 USD, Sephora.ca

This was my first liquid lipstick purchase and I still consider it my little baby as my collection’s grown. I still believe this is a shade that compliments every skin tone and looks different on everyone (just like MAC’s Whirl lipstick). This is definitely my go to darker nude as the season transitions to Fall and Winter.

While, I don’t own the Studded Kiss version of this lipstick, I know it is definitely something that I will be purchasing in the near future. (Because, Treat Yourself day is literally every day that I’m online shopping)

Moving onto the packaging, I love how simple the liquid lipstick is with just the tube, but the Kat Von D Beauty team really added a nice touch to it with the intricate floral design on the tube. I feel like it’s something so minimal but adds such a nice feel to the tube that you can easily distinguish it between other liquid lipsticks. The Studded Kiss lipstick packaging is also one of my favourites as it has a stud texture to the whole cylindrical tube keeping the lipstick from rolling into the dark abyss, because who knows how many lipsticks I’ve lost due to them rolling away from me. It’s easily distinguishable just by the feel and the KVD logo at the top of each lipstick make it easy to tell that its from Kat Von D.

I don’t think I’ll ever stop purchasing Kat Von D products, as the quality of it is basically perfection in my eyes. I’m also really excited if I’m able to get my hands on one of the vaults as I’ve been waiting a long time to try out her Shade and Light products but could never justify it as I already own so many products, but with the vault, it’s one of the best deals I’ve seen this season with the holiday releases. I also really admire what the brand and Kat Von D, herself, stand for and can’t wait to see what else they have planned for the coming years.

What are your thoughts on Kat Von D products? What are some of your favourites from the collection?

Until next time,
– h.

Instagram: @_hwonggg
Snapchat: @hwonggg
Spotify: https://play.spotify.com/user/_hwonggg
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/thehwonggg
Business: hwong.vids@gmail.com

DISCLAIMER: All products are purchased with my own money and opinions are my own.

3 thoughts on “Everlasting Love for Lipstick: Kat Von D Lipsticks Reviewed

Leave a Reply

