Top 4 Everyday Eye Looks

I will admit that I’ve been slacking. Trying to get this 6 days of blogging/video posting deal is a lot harder than I thought since I’m still in school. Props to all those who can manage to post content every single day, I salute thee!

Alright, getting down to it, my everyday eye looks definitely tend to be towards the neutral brown tones of things as my eyes are dark brown. BUT, I do like to have a little fun with them. This past summer, I really fell in love with using more pink shades on my eye lids and giving them more of a ‘washed out’ kind of look, as I like to call it.

As school begins to get in the way of everything, I like to keep it quick and easy. With 4 different eyeshadow products, I’ll be creating 4 different everyday eye looks, so keep on reading!

I feel like it’s only right that I create one look per eyeshadow product as a few products were limited edition and some are permanent products that are sold in stores. I’ve narrowed down the products to this: Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance palette (recently restocked at Sephora Canada!), Too Faced Sweet Peach palette (coming back this December!), Colourpop Super Shock Eyeshadows (much more selection), and the classic Lorac Pro palette (forever wishing they still sold in Canada).

Just to put it out there, I’ll be priming my eyes with Too Faced Shadow Insurance for every look. Also, yes, I am aware that my lash extensions are fading and that my lashes are looking a little sad at the moment.

1. Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance

fullsizeoutput_8a9e
Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Palette, $55 CAD/$42 USD, Sephora.ca

I’m so happy that this palette is back in stock! It’s literally one of my favourite palettes that I’ve acquired this year and everyone can now bathe in its goodness! This is more of an intense everyday eye look, but honestly, everyone needs those days where they feel like they can take on the world with just a look.

Using ‘Raw Sienna’ as the base, I just pat it all over my lid, it looks a bit all over the place but it’ll be covered soon enough. With a tapered blending brush, I went in with ‘Red Ochre’ in the crease and blended it into the outer corner of my eyes to mix with our base ‘Raw Sienna.’ After these two colours were blended together, I patted onto the rest of the eyelid ‘Primavera,’ which, is a really nice gold shade to add a pop of sparkle to the eyes. To pull the whole look together, I went back into the crease with ‘Red Ochre’ and then used a clean blending brush to blend in any harsh lines. For the lower lash line, I used ‘Red Ochre’ on the outside half and ‘Primavera’ for the inside half to enhance the smokiness of the look.

2. Too Faced Sweet Peach 

fullsizeoutput_8aa2
Too Faced Sweet Peach Palette, $59 CAD/$49 USD, Sephora.ca

Adding this to another favourite eye palette from this year, I absolutely love the amount of looks that can be created with this palette. It’s also a bonus that it smells like peaches, which, can cause a little bit of confusion to my sister’s dog, every time he’s around when I’m wearing this or have the palette nearby. I love this palette to the point that I might try to get a second one when it comes back in stock because I don’t know if I’d be able to live without this in my life.

This is less intense than the ABH look, but I feel like it adds more dimension to my dark brown eyes.

To create this look, I used ‘Peaches ‘N Cream’ as the base and then applied ‘Cobbler’ to the crease. I really needed to build on the crease to really get it visible and to enhance the inner corner of the eye. After a lot of blending with ‘Cobbler,’ I was able to pat on ‘Luscious’ onto the inner corner to really brighten up the eye and add some more life to my dark brown eyes. I also applied ‘Cobbler’ to the outer lower lash line of my eyes and ‘Luscious’ to the inner lower lash line to tie the whole look together.

3. Colourpop Super Shock Eyeshadows

fullsizeoutput_8aa6
Colourpop Super Shock Eyeshadows, $5 USD, Colourpop.com

Colourpop has really outdone themselves this year, I feel like this was almost the ‘year of Colourpop’ in the beauty world. They have such a wide selection of colours and with that, they’re super creamy and buttery. The only downside I have to the shadows is that they don’t work well with brushes. By that, I mean they’re really difficult to apply and have any pigmentation show up when brushes are used.

For this whole look, it consisted of a lot of finger swatching and patting onto the eyelid to really get the colours to show.

The base consisted of ‘Cornelious’ being patted on with my ring finger. This took a lot of patting to get to as the shadow is similar to my eyelid, so it was a little difficult to see when the base actually covered my eye. After that, I used my pinky finger to apply ‘Wattles’ to the inner and outer corners of my eyes as well as the crease. ‘Wattles’ is a dusty beige pink kind of shade with a satin finish, so it added a nice little glow to the eyes. But to really go for the halo effect with this look, I feel like the middle lid shadow I used, would have really made my eyes pop. After working ‘Wattles’ into my inner and outer corners, I used ‘Un’ for the middle lid colour, it’s a really nice champagne shade with a metallic finish. This brought the whole look together as the dusty pink and champagne shades worked really well together.

4. Lorac Pro Palette

fullsizeoutput_8aaa
Lorac Pro Palette, $44 USD, Ulta.com

This is one of the palettes that’s like the Urban Decay Naked palette. It just seems to be one of the classic must-have palettes. While, I ended up giving away my Naked palette due to little use, I kept my Lorac Pro because of my love of it, and also because Canada stopped selling Lorac, so it’s difficult to get my hands on their products unless I do a trip to the States.

For this look, I went with more of a darker, smokier look with neutral shades.

This is more of a smoky look. I feel like with my other two looks (Too Faced & Colourpop), there should be another darker look to really bring my everyday looks together because let’s face it. I’m not always in a bright cheery mood, especially not at 8 in the morning. So, to add to my intimidation factor of not being a morning person, I put this look together.

Using ‘Taupe’ as the base, I quickly swiped it across my lids, since my lids are uneven, you can see that one eye lid doesn’t have the product as far up as the other lid does. After ‘Taupe’ was applied, I went in with ‘Mauve’ for the outer corner and crease, it really added more of a purple-tone to the look, as purple shades tend to bring out brown eyes more. I also applied ‘Mauve’ to the lower last line at the outside half of the eye to bring the look together. Just to add some sort of light into my eyes, I patted on ‘Lt. Bronze’ to the inner corner so everyone can tell that while I’m mostly not a morning person, I can become more of a cheery person as the day continues.

Would you wear any of these looks on a daily basis? What are some of your go-to’s?

Until next time,
– h.

Instagram: @_hwonggg
Snapchat: @hwonggg
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/thehwonggg
Business: hwong.vids@gmail.com

Be sure to follow me here: Follow my blog with Bloglovin

DISCLAIMER: All products are purchased with my own money and all opinions are my own.

5 thoughts on “Top 4 Everyday Eye Looks

Leave a Reply

