Fall Edit: Latest Colourpop Haul

As many companies do, they release a whole new collection around this time of year that includes their latest Fall collection and the beginning of releasing holiday sets. With that in mind, I was more than prepared to be splurging this season.

Thankfully, Colourpop came out with a promotion where it was $5.00 international shipping for orders under $50.00 and free shipping for orders over $50.00. Of course, this promotion began the day they released their three Fall Edit collections, which, only meant that I was definitely going to pick something up!

*What’s even better is that they have free international shipping when spending $50+ until the end of the year!*

I ended up picking up 4 of the Fall Edit super shock eyeshadows and 3 of their liquid lipsticks from the collection as well as, 2 super shock eyeshadows and 1 liquid lipstick from their permanent collection.

Beginning with their Fall Edit products, I really tried to narrow down the shades to purchase, only because the shadows only apply well with finger application, which, ensues the frustration and struggle. I have also accumulated quite a bit of eyeshadows that are around the same burgundy/pink-esque shades that seems to be the hype this season.

Fall Edit Super Shock Eyeshadow Collection

img_3309
Colourpop Fall Edit Super Shock Eyeshadows, $5 USD, Colourpop.com

With their eyeshadows comes the love for how creamy they are and how easy it is to get pigment out of them with just one swatch. While they all swatched really nicely, I found ‘Tang’ to not be as creamy as the other shades. It took a little more swatching on the surface to get pigment out, but not by a lot.

fullsizeoutput_8ab5
Colourpop Fall Edit Super Shock Eyeshadows (L-R): Paisley, Tang, Brady, Muse

‘Paisley’ took a few more layers for the pigmentation to show up, but its a really nice golden champagne colour with a glitter finish. It’d work perfectly on top of any eyeshadow to add a pop and bring out the eyes, or it would really brighten up a whole look with having it applied just in the inner corners of the eyes. ‘Tang’ is a dusty plum shade that I’ve been gravitating towards this whole year, I love using it on its own or as a crease colour when having a light brown shade applied to my whole lid. ‘Brady’ is definitely a shade that I don’t own in my collection, while I’m obsessed with lipsticks that are of the dusty rose shade, I actually don’t own an eyeshadow version of it. I’m really excited to create a look with it, especially if I paired it up with ‘Muse.’ ‘Muse’ reminds me a little bit of MUG’s ‘Roulette’ shade, which I used for a school formal this past spring, it’s a really nice red and would definitely add some definitely and depth to my eyes.

Super Shock Eyeshadows

img_3311
Colourpop Super Shock Eyeshadows, $5 USD, Colourpop.com

These are more of the neutral shades. Compared to the description and photos provided on the site, I’d say the colours are a bit off. It’s also seen in the photo that the metallic shade is already broken, which really bummed me out when I first opened it.

fullsizeoutput_8aba
Colourpop Super Shock Eyeshadow (L-R): Hanky Panky, La La

I ended up narrowing down my Colourpop wish list to two eyeshadows because I have accumulated quite the amount of eyeshadows throughout this past year and really didn’t need another shadow that was similar, if not the same as another shadow that I already own. ‘Hanky Panky’ is considered a ‘soft toned taupe,’ while I find it similar to Cornelius from the KathleenLights X Colourpop collection, it’s limited edition, so this definitely works as a backup if the limited edition version is out of stock. ‘La La’ is described as a ‘true rose gold,’ it swatches really nice and I can’t wait to play around with it.

THE SITUATION

img_3313
Broken Colourpop Super Shock Eyeshadow in ‘La La’

I feel like I needed to address this because I mentioned it a little earlier and I’m actually pretty bummed about it. While I know Colourpop eyeshadows are a cream-to-powder formula, my eyeshadow in ‘La La’ came already cracked. (As seen above) However, when I unscrewed the cap to take a picture of the shadow, the whole shadow fell out of the pan. I already accepted the fact that it was cracked when it arrived but I didn’t expect it to actually fall out of the pan. But, things happen and luckily, the Colourpop FAQ page indicates that all you need to do is place a tissue paper on top of the shadow and push it back together. Guess I know what I’m doing this weekend!

Liquid Lipsticks

img_3318
Colourpop Liquid Lipsticks, $6 USD, Colourpop.com

During the summer, I placed a huge Colourpop order because I figured it was better to go big than to go home.In this event, I got too excited from the Jenn Im collaboration and ended up only ordering berry shaded liquid lipsticks. While, I’m all for the berry lip, I really wanted to try their nude shades.

Ultra Satin Lip

fullsizeoutput_8ab6
Colourpop Ultra Satin Lip in ‘Baracuda’

This is possibly my favourite liquid lipstick from this purchase. I expected the satin finish to be glossy and have some sort of shine, which I am not a fan of. I love how easily this applied and how quickly it dried. It didn’t have any sticky or tacky feel when I rubbed my lips together and no product smudged onto the other lip.

Ultra Matte Lip

Here is where I have yet another situation with this liquid lipstick. I found that after the ultra matte lip in ‘Times Square’ dried on my lips and I tried to blot my lips together, product from the top lip would cling onto my bottom layer. They dried patchy and felt like they were sucking out the hydration from my lips (if that’s even possible).

fullsizeoutput_8abc
Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in ‘Tulle’

This is the only lip product I purchased outside of the Fall Edit collection. I’ve been eyeing this one for a while and it reminds me of a Charlotte Tilbury lipstick that I’ve been wanting to purchase. I feel like this is pretty much the equivalent to the ultra satin lip in ‘Baracuda’ but with a matte finish instead. I didn’t find any issues with this and it applied really nicely.

fullsizeoutput_8abd
Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in ‘Love Bug’

This is the other ultra matte lip that I purchased and I’m in love with. It reminds me so much of Lolita II, which is a great terracotta colour. If anything, this has more brown tones in it than Lolita II does. Nonetheless, I love it.

The formulas of the liquid lips dry super fast and while I had a few hits and a few misses, the brand itself is very affordable and I love what it stands for.

Did you purchase any of their fall products? Have you ever tried Colourpop?

Until next time,
– h.

Instagram: @_hwonggg
Snapchat: @hwonggg
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/thehwonggg
Business: hwong.vids@gmail.com

Be sure to follow me here: Follow my blog with Bloglovin

DISCLAIMER: All products are purchased with my own money and all opinions are my own.

8 thoughts on “Fall Edit: Latest Colourpop Haul

Leave a Reply

