Sucker for Limited Edition: Kat Von D Shade + Light Obsession Collector’s Edition Vault

While I love everything Kat Von D stands for, and all her beauty products; I never got to purchasing her contour palette or her eyeshadow palettes. Thankfully, she released her Shade + Light Obsession Collector’s Edition Contour set, which consists of just that. Meaning, I finally had a reason to get it.

The reason that I never got to purchasing her palettes was because they weren’t limited edition and there was always something else I had my eye on, so it was never a priority for me.

fullsizeoutput_8ac1
Kat Von D Shade + Light Obsession Collector’s Edition Contour Set, $263 CAD/$200 USD, Sephora.ca

In this lovely coffin shaped carry case, you get 6 products: 2 Shade + Light Eye Contour Quads, the refillable Shade + Light Contour Palette, the Shade + Light Eye Contour Palette, the Shade + Light Eye Contour Brush and the Shade + Light Face Contour Brush with a personally signed letter from Kat, herself.

The set retails for $263 CAD/$200 USD at Sephora, which, is pretty steep but I’ve always wanted the palettes and there seemed like no other better time to get them all than now. The contour palette and the eye contour palette also have a different packaging, making this set more unique than purchasing all the products individually.

Looking more into the breakdown of prices, the Eye Contour Quads cost $34 CAD each, the refillable Contour Palette costs $64 CAD, the Eye Contour Palette costs $55 CAD, and each brush costs $35 and $43 each. This comes to a total of $265. While, you’re only saving $2 CAD, it comes with a signed letter and a carrying case that can double as a laptop case or a portable case for anything you’d like to bring along. It’s a small saving but in the end, it’s better than nothing.

While, these palettes aren’t new releases or anything, I thought I would share my thoughts on the products that came with the set.

1. Shade + Light Eye Contour Quad in Plum

This was one of the quads that I wanted when they were first released. It was always either this one or Rust. I find 3 of the 4 shades to be buttery and pigmented, while they don’t have specific names, they are given what they can be used for in creating a look with all the shades. The only shade that I found was lacking pigment and felt a little chalky was the ‘define’ shade. It took a few swipes of colour to actually make it look less patchy, whereas the rest of the shades only needed one swipe. If you haven’t noticed, I’m pretty into purple tones currently so this is definitely a quad that I would love to play with.

2. Shade + Light Eye Contour Quad in Smoke

While this quad is also lovely, I find that I can find the shades in the Eye Contour Palette. The quad consists of 3 buttery and pigmented shades, and I still found the ‘define’ shade to feel a little chalky and come out not as pigmented as the rest. A few swipes did the trick to getting it evened out. More of a cool-toned palette, this isn’t something I would reach for on a regular basis, but it’d be really fun to create a super smokey eye with this quad. I like that this set consisted of a colourful quad and a more neutral toned quad, it really balances out the set.

img_3366
Shade + Light Eye Contour & Contour Palette packaging

3. Shade + Light Eye Contour Palette

img_3357
Kat Von D Shade + Light Eye Contour Palette

All the shades are full of pigment and one swatch literally does the trick for everything. I’m not disappointed by this palette at all and I’m so happy I was able to get my hands on it. The packaging of this palette itself is also different from the palette outside of the set. It consists of a embossed labelling and is a tougher and heavier plastic packaging, whereas the palette outside of this set is in a cardboard packaging.

fullsizeoutput_8ac5
Swatches (L-R): Laetus, Samael, Solas, Lucius, Lazarus, Saleos, Shax, Liberatus, Ludwin, Succubus, Sytry, Latinus

Having wanted this palette for quite some time, and hearing all the raving reviews on it, I knew that it would be everything I ask for and more. I didn’t want to get my hopes up because my opinion and others may be super different, but I have to say, I can see this being one of my go-to’s just from the swatches.

4. Shade + Light Refillable Contour Palette

img_3358
Kat Von D Refillable Contour Palette

I was skeptical about the contour palette that would be included in the set because the photo didn’t depict if it were the refillable one or not. I was pleasantly surprised when it turned out to be the refillable palette because I would hate to have to purchase a new palette when this one is gorgeous as it is. It also consists of the embossed logo and is a harder and tougher plastic packaging matching the eye contour palette. This is also my first contour palette, so I’m excited to see what I can do with all the shades.

fullsizeoutput_8ac6
Swatches (L-R): Lucid, Lyric, Levitation, Sombre, Shadowplay, Subconscious

I can already tell that the darkest contour shade will not work on my NC25 skin unless I use the lightest touch. The swatches provide easy pigmentation and don’t require multiple swipes of the product to produce a visible swatch.  I can see why this palette was really popular. The contour shades are more cool-toned making it a lot easier to chisel out the cheekbones and more versatile for every skin tone. The versatility of the palette also makes it easy to create a eye looks for when you only want to carry one palette around.

5. Shade + Light Brushes

I figured I would just talk about both the brushes in one section. I have yet to try them out but just by feeling them, they’re super soft! And, by super soft, I mean, I could run my fingers through them all day long and never get sick of it. While, I’m not a fan of double ended brushes because there’s no way for me to store them in my brush cups, I do admire that you’re basically getting 4 brushes out of this set instead of 2. I love that they come with a coffin shaped carrying case to protect them and the case is sturdy enough that I know they’d be protected.

img_3370
Carrying case tag

In addition to the adorable multi-use coffin shaped carrying case that this set comes in, the keychain attached to the zipper is also a really cute tag that has ‘Kat Von D’ debossed into it. It can be detached from the zipper and used as a keychain on its own.

While, my laptop is definitely too small to comfortably fit into the carrying case, I do like that I can use it for different occasions. The inner lid of the case also consists of 2 pockets with velcro clasps to keep your items secure.

When it comes down to it, I think the set is worth it if you like collecting collector’s edition products and if you don’t own anything or only a few products from what the set consists of. If you’re only interested in only one or two products in the set or just the embossing on the contour palettes, then I wouldn’t say it’s worth it. I personally love having been able to pick this up and to finally have these products in my collection. I think the Kat Von D beauty team did a really good job on the details of the set and I look forward to products they produce in the future.

What are your thoughts on this set? What is the best contour palette you’ve tried so far?

Until next time,
– h.

Instagram: @_hwonggg
Snapchat: @hwonggg
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/thehwonggg
Business: hwong.vids@gmail.com

Be sure to follow me here: Follow my blog with Bloglovin

DISCLAIMER: All products are purchased with my own money and all opinions are my own.

5 thoughts on “Sucker for Limited Edition: Kat Von D Shade + Light Obsession Collector’s Edition Vault

Leave a Reply

