Too Faced Thursday: Better Than Sex Waterproof Mascara Reviewed

I know, I know. It’s not the most creative title out there but with what’s going on in my brain lately, this was the best I could come up with. When it comes down to mascara and my eyelashes, it has to be waterproof.

As someone with ‘Asian lashes,’ they’re naturally very straight and stick straight out. While, they aren’t downward pointing or short like some, they are fairly difficult to hold up mascara with. Even after curling with an eyelash curler, non-waterproof mascara formulas tend to undo the curling and let my lashes droop back down to sticking straight out. So yes, the struggle is real when mascara and brows are my everyday go-to makeup combo when I’m in a rush.

I tend to stick to the two waterproof mascaras that I’ve tried and find work well with my lashes, the Tarte Lights, Camera, Splashes (my holy grail), and the Maybelline Lash Sensational Luscious Full Fan Effect Waterproof mascara. But standing in line to be cashed out at Sephora the other week, this mascara caught my eye.

 

I wanted to pick up and try out this mascara since it was first launched earlier this year. But, from my experience, the original non-waterproof Better Than Sex mascara was fairly crunchy feeling and clumped my lashes together. However, upon seeing that Too Faced had come out with a travel size version of this mascara, it was definitely the opportunity for me to pick it up and finally see what all the fuss was about.

fullsizeoutput_8b63
Too Faced Better Than Sex Waterproof Mascara, $30 CAD/$23 USD (full size), Sephora.ca

The packaging is this really pretty light blue colour with little water drop details on it. They’re not just the graphic of the water drop, but actual 3D droplets, which adds to the feel of it. So, in case you’re ever not sure which mascara you have in your hand, once you feel the bumps, you’ll be sure to know its Better Than Sex waterproof mascara.

fullsizeoutput_8b5f

Moving onto the wand, it’s the exact same shape and size as the original Better Than Sex, it has that hourglass shape so the ends are sure to catch your lashes at either end and the middle is guaranteed to provide product. The wand provided a voluminous addition to my lashes.

fullsizeoutput_8b5e

When applying mascara, I’m usually somebody that runs the wand through my lashes with just a wiggling motion at the base to ensure my lashes don’t clump. But, I noticed that with this mascara, the best way to really disperse the product is to slowly rotate the wand as your move it through your lashes. I found that this really added the volume to my lashes instead of just combing the wand through them.

fullsizeoutput_8b5a

I ended up only using one coat of mascara because the formulation was still pretty crunchy feeling and it felt really dry as if I had owned the mascara for a very long time. I may have just felt this way since the Tarte and Maybelline mascaras are a wet formulas and I’m just not too used to it. While I did enjoy using this mascara and seeing the hype of it, I don’t think I’d be purchasing a full size of it because it’s more expensive than the Tarte one and it didn’t pass my shower test.

My shower test is simple. Shower with the mascara on. While the Maybelline one doesn’t pass it either, it’s a good drugstore alternative for me when I feel like saving some mascara money. After showering with mascara on, if the mascara remains on my lashes with no fall out or raccoon eyes, it passes. If it even holds my lashes curled after the shower, that’s an even bigger pass a definite purchase of the full size. I think its safe for you to assume that the Tarte mascara fills in all these categories for me. The Better Than Sex waterproof mascara kept some of my lashes curled and had a bit of fall out but didn’t give me full on raccoon eyes.

So, while I did enjoy the volume and packaging of this product, I probably wouldn’t purchase a full size of it.

Have you tried this mascara? What are your holy grail waterproof mascaras?

Until next time,
– h.

Instagram: @_hwonggg
Snapchat: @hwonggg
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/thehwonggg
Business: hwong.vids@gmail.com

Be sure to follow me here: Follow my blog with Bloglovin

DISCLAIMER: All products are purchased with my own money and all opinions are my own.

3 thoughts on “Too Faced Thursday: Better Than Sex Waterproof Mascara Reviewed

Leave a Reply

