Nutcracker Sweet Face Compact by MAC || HWong’s Holidays 2016

With the holidays quickly approaching, in comes MAC with their holiday collection release. While, I’m very well aware that I’m late to the game on their products, I couldn’t help myself when I visited MAC in store and swatched a few of the products from the launch.

You know that mindset where you’re going to go to the mall and not purchase anything but only check out some products that you’re intrigued about? And, then you swatch it and next thing you know, you’re leaving the store with the product? Yeah, that happened to me.

I had heard the hype of their collection all over social media with the re-release of their famous highlighter ‘Whisper of Gilt‘ that was incorporated into the Nutcracker Sweet copper face compact. While it didn’t appeal to me, the face compact itself did and thus, I ventured to the mall to check out the products.

fullsizeoutput_8ba7
MAC Nutcracker Sweet Peach Face Compact, $42 CAD.

When I got to the mall, I made a beeline for the MAC counter, and stood there and just stared at the face compacts. I debated picking up both the copper and peach face compacts but I was leaning more towards the peach one since I found the shades to flatter my skin much better. When the salesperson told me that the copper face compact was sold out and that they only had one left in the peach shade, I knew I had to grab it with the luck that had come to me!

Okay, getting down to the face compact. I purchased the peach face compact that consists of the extra dimension skinfinish in Tutu and the extra dimension blush in At Dusk. They’re both 4.5 g/0.16 US oz and the compact cost, $42 CAD.

fullsizeoutput_8ba9
MAC Nutcracker Sweet Peach Face Compact, $42 CAD.

As I stated earlier, I didn’t plan on purchasing it as I don’t think I need another highlighter and I’m not a huge blush person but my mind completely changed upon swatching the product. It’s so pigmented and the design of the powder itself is gorgeous. I love the detailing that MAC put into the pans and that it even comes with a mirror.

The exterior packaging is really cute pink and purple stripes with gold threading with the design seen on the pans on the inside. It has a strong magnetic closure ensuring security when travelling and reminds me of a flip phone with its slim packaging.

The highlighter is gorgeous, with just swatch, it’s pigmented like crazy but shows up really nicely on my skin. I find it similar to the Kat Von D Metal Crush Eyeshadow in Thunderstruck, as a metallic pearl shade. As someone who’s more into the ‘natural’ looking highlighter, I like that this is definitely a buildable product. I applied this around 2 times onto my cheekbones with a fan brush, but with a highlighter brush, it could definitely show up a lot more.

The blush, while difficult to swatch on my arm, came out very subtle and nice on my cheeks. It’s definitely very buildable and good for an everyday look.

While, I kind of regret not heading to the mall earlier in hopes of picking up the copper face compact to see the hype over Whisper of Gilt, I’m happy with the peach one. I think it suits my skin tone really well and may just get myself more into wearing blush within the near future. I would definitely recommend picking up this product if its available at a MAC counter near you because it’s something I’m happy to add to my collection.

Have you picked up any of the MAC holiday products?

Until next time,
– h.

Instagram: @_hwonggg
Snapchat: @hwonggg
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/thehwonggg
Business: hwong.vids@gmail.com

Be sure to follow me here: Follow my blog with Bloglovin

DISCLAIMER: All products are purchased with my own money and all opinions are my own.

2 thoughts on “Nutcracker Sweet Face Compact by MAC || HWong’s Holidays 2016

Leave a Reply

