Spring 2017 Skincare Haul

For once in my life, my completion of skincare products matched up to the annual Sephora 2x the Points on Skincare event and I couldn’t be more excited! (I know it’s still Winter but ‘Winter 2017’ as a title would’ve been more confusing) Since beginning to try out this whole blogging and YouTube thing, I’ve been attempting to try out new products each time and really expand on the brands that I’m used to trying.

Thanks to the Sephora 2x the Points event, I picked up one of every skincare product (step-wise), that I was interested in trying out and if I was close to finishing that type of product in my own vanity at home. I will include that I have one product that isn’t from Sephora but was on sale for a really good price so I couldn’t pass up the opportunity. Most of these products, I have already tried at least once, so there will also be a mini review on each product.

PS. Yes, I know most of the products end up making a pastel-ish gradient in my vanity. Clearly, I’m ready for the season to change!

fullsizeoutput_8e7d
Some products that were picked up during the Sephora Skincare promotion and drugstore sales.

1. Shu Uemura Blanc: Chroma Cleansing Oil ($44 CAD/$35 USD, Sephora.ca)

Making my way through all the Shu Uemura cleansing oils, I was interested in trying this one because of the brightening aspect. A lot of my cheek acne is now going away and I’m left with acne scars, so this was the perfect time to pick up this cleansing oil because I also ran out of my previous one. I really enjoy the Shu Uemura cleansing oils because you really only need one pump and at most two to do the job. I love how they don’t leave any residue on your face after washing. So, I’m really excited to try out this one and see if it makes a difference in my acne scars.

2. Kate Somerville EradiKate Daily Cleanser ($48 CAD/$38 USD, Sephora.ca)

As with the Shu Uemura cleansing oils, I’m making my way through Kate Somerville cleansers. So far, I’ve tried the Detox and the ExfoliKate Cleanser and have enjoyed both of them. This EradiKate cleanser is a relatively new product and as I’m nearing the end of my cheek acne phase, I thought I would step it up a notch and try to incorporate products that target acne back into my life.

3. Shiseido Ibuki Protective Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF 18 ($55 CAD/$45 USD, Sephora.ca)

As with trying to take better care of my skin and fall into a routine, I’m trying to incorporate sunscreen into my daily skincare. I’m not a fan of the feel or the ‘whitecast’ that sunscreen leaves on my face but this moisturizer felt really nice when I tried it out in store. Plus, I’m a fan of the Shiseido Ibuki line as I really enjoyed their Refining Moisturizer. The scent is really nice, it’s slightly fragranced and is just a scent that I enjoy smelling in the morning.

4. Sephora Collection Cleansing & Exfoliating Wipes ($10 CAD/$7.50 USD, Sephora.ca)

As someone who swears by the Pond’s make up remover wipes (I have a review here), I thought it was time to branch out and give the Sephora Collection wipes a try. The double the points didn’t hurt either, so I picked up the green tea ones because they’re better for acne prone skin. So far, they leave a slight feel of residue on the skin, and they take off the majority of my make up but they’re not bad. The exfoliating side adds a nice feel to the skin after removing my makeup with the smooth side of the wipe.

5. Dr. Jart+ Dermask Micro Jet Clearing Solution ($11 CAD/$9 USD, Sephora.ca)

I’m really getting into face masks this year, and this was one that I wanted to try out because it targets acne-prone skin and uneven skintones. I’ve tried a few of the Dr. Jart ones and have really been enjoying them, so I thought I would pick this one up as well.

6. Dr. Dennis Gross Antioxidant Cleansing Cloths with AHAs ($22 CAD/$18 USD, Sephora.ca)

I almost got to the point of thinking these didn’t even exist because they were sold out for the longest time. But, lucky me, I checked on a day where these were available and I didn’t even get an e-mail for them. Immediately, I ordered two packs in case they sold out again and didn’t have an in stock date in the near future. They’re fairly pricy and I haven’t tried them yet (trying to use up the Sephora ones first) but they contain AHAs, which is good for acne-prone skin. Reviews are also fairly positive so I have high hopes for these wipes. (Please don’t let me down!)

7. Kate Somerville ExfoliKate Intensive Exfoliating Treatment ($29-102 CAD/$24-175 USD, Sephora.ca)

This is one of those HG products that you feel you need to try at least once in your life. Oddly enough, the Canadian Sephora only carries the 0.5 oz and the 2 oz, whereas, the American Sephora carries this product in a 5 oz packaging in addition to the 0.5 oz and 2 oz. I was lucky enough to pick up two of the 0.5 oz ExfoliKates during the Black Friday sales because they were $15 CAD/$10 USD in a set with the Goat Milk cleanser (which, I have yet to try!) I try to limit my use of this to once a week, and so far, I think it’s been helping with my acne scars, so I’ll definitely keep using the 0.5 oz ones until I figure out if they’re really worth the splurge.

8. L’Oreal Pure Clay Mask ($10-16 CAD/$10-13 USD, local drugstore or Amazon)

This mask was literally all I heard anyone talk about when they first launched. There are a total of three masks in the collection: the grey ‘detox & brighten’, the green ‘purify & mattify’, and the red ‘exfoliate & refine pores’. I had heard that the grey mask was a good dupe for the GlamGlow SuperMud, which I love so I had to pick this up. For a drugstore product, I find this to be fairly pricy but it went on sale for $10, and I immediately snatched it up. It’s a thicker consistency than the GlamGlow SuperMud but it doesn’t dry out my skin and I haven’t broken out since using this mask, so I would definitely keep using it.

fullsizeoutput_8e81
Spring skincare haul of 2017
I know this was a very wordy skincare haul but please bear with me. I will definitely be having more reviews on some of these products and how I like them coming up so be sure to stay tuned.

Did you pick up any skincare products during the promotion? What are some of your favourites?

4 thoughts on “Spring 2017 Skincare Haul

Leave a Reply

