Send in the Nudes! || Kat Von D Beauty

A few posts back I featured one of the new nude shades that are being added to the Kat Von D ‘Everlasting Liquid Lipstick’ collection and this time, I’ve got more!

fullsizeoutput_8f12
Kat Von D Beauty Everlasting Liquid Lipstick Bundle

At Sephora this year, Kat Von D Beauty is releasing a new lip shade each month, similar to what Bite Beauty did a few years back where a limited edition lipstick was released each month. However, while KVD launched the liquid lipstick in ‘Sanctuary’ last month, 5 more nude shades were released as singles throughout the month. At this moment, ‘Sanctuary’ is the only limited edition shade that has been released and the other 5: Muñeca, Ophelia, Ludwig, Hawkwind, and Crucifix are permanent additions to the collection exclusively at Sephora.

fullsizeoutput_8f02
Kat Von D Beauty Products in Photo: Shade + Light Contour Palette, Shade + Light Eye Contour Palette, Shade + Light Contour Brush, Shade + Light Eye Contour Brush.

For the month of February, Sephora and Kat Von D surprised us with a launch of a 6 shade nude liquid lipsticks bundle for $119 CAD, while each liquid lipstick retails for $24 CAD/$20 USD. I was lucky enough to catch the launch right when it happened and picked up this bundle. As I mentioned in my previous KVD post that I was hoping to pick up the bundle than the liquid lipsticks individually as it was a better deal.

Moving onto the actual lipsticks themselves, the bundle consisted of 6 liquid lipsticks all in a nude-toned shade range. I love how while it included lighter nude shades, it also consisted of darker nude shades. For extra comparison, I’ve include arm swatches and lip swatches with other shades in my collection, such as: Bow N’ Arrow, Lolita, and Double Dare. Let’s get into them!

fullsizeoutput_8f0a
KVD Everlasting Liquid Lipstick Swatches (L-R): Muñeca, Ophelia, Bow N’ Arrow, Ludwig, Double Dare, Lolita, Sanctuary, Hawkwind, Crucifix

1. Muñeca – nude petal

fullsizeoutput_8f05
KVD Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in ‘Muñeca’

Out of all the shades in this bundle, this one gave me the most difficulty when applying. I had to apply at least 3 layers for the shade to actually show up on the inner part of my lips, otherwise it was pretty streaky. It reminds me of a barbie pink, which, I can clearly not pull off. Even with 3 layers of product, you can still see part of my natural lip colour.

I’m not too bothered by this shade because I know that I most likely would not be wearing it on its own but incorporating it into an ombre lip.

2. Ophelia – nude chestnut

fullsizeoutput_8f06
KVD Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in ‘Ophelia’

This is one of my favourites from the bundle. It reminds me of Bow N’ Arrow but is more on the pink side of nudes. This one applied as easily as all my other KVD liquid lipsticks have and matches up to my natural lip colour pretty well. I know I’ll definitely be getting a lot of wear out of this and I’m super happy that it’s not limited edition.

3. Ludwig – nude fawn 

fullsizeoutput_8f07
KVD Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in ‘Ludwig’

I have no idea what the difference between ‘fawn nude’ (Bow N’ Arrow) and ‘nude fawn’ is, but this is considered a nude fawn shade. It’s a little bit more ashy toned but still remains to be more on the pink side of nude shades. It applied easily and super pigmented, I didn’t find myself struggling with layers when applying.

4. Sanctuary – nude coffee 

fullsizeoutput_8e7a
KVD Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in ‘Sanctuary’

I have no idea what a nude coffee shade is, but it’s apparently this. I’m not going to speak much of it because I have a full blog post dedicated to it (you can read it here) but I did mention that I may not wear it as often as it’s not really in my everyday comfort zone, but I may also incorporate it into an ombre lip or when I’m feeling risky with my outfit choices.

5. Hawkwind – nude sienna 

fullsizeoutput_8f08
KVD Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in ‘Hawkwind

This is one of my favourite darker nude shades. I knew once I applied it that it would be a shade I would love wearing on a daily basis (well not on a daily basis, but close enough). It makes me think ‘vampy nude’ as it’s still pretty dark of a nude but not dark enough that it’s considered full on vampy.

6. Crucifix – deep chocolate

fullsizeoutput_8f09
KVD Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in ‘Crucifix’

Have I ever mentioned how difficult it is to apply a dark lip product? I find it super difficult because one false move and it’s so obvious that it’s not perfectly positioned. Good thing we’ve got concealer to fix these little mistakes. I clearly made my bottom lip more lopsided for the shot, but it is what it is. I like that this shade doesn’t show up super brown but still has red undertones in it. I find that brown undertones are a huge hit or miss for me but this is still a shade that I can see myself wearing.

I’m really happy about the new shades that KVD Beauty has released so far and can’t wait for more! The quality of the liquid lipsticks are unbeatable and definitely one of my favourite formulations. They glide on super easily with great pigmentation.

Are there any new shades that you plan on picking up? What are some of your favourites?

 

2 thoughts on “Send in the Nudes! || Kat Von D Beauty

Leave a Reply

