February Favourites || 2017

I know, I know. March is already well into its second week and this is definitely overdue. But, I couldn’t hold back on not sharing my favourites that I fell in love with in February. So, I’ll keep this opening short and get right into it.

fullsizeoutput_93b7

February was an interesting month for skincare, and while I’m still testing everything out in that part of my life, majority of the products I’ve got to share are makeup products.

Getting down to it, February was a month of the minimal. By minimal, I mean, no foundation, just concealer on days when I just wasn’t feeling my skin. At most, I went to my go-to, highlighter and a nude lip.

Highlighters

fullsizeoutput_93c6
Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Ethereal Light & Kat Von D Beauty Metal Crush Eyeshadow in Thunderstruck.

1. Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Ethereal Light ($55 CAD (full size), $30 CAD (travel size)/$46 USD (full size), $22 USD (travel size), Sephora.com)

I only got this in a travel size because I wanted to allow myself to try something else after I hit pan on this. Although, I still haven’t hit pan on any of my Ambient Lighting Palette shades, so I don’t even know if that’s possible for these Hourglass products. But, I love how finely milled this powder is and how subtle and natural it applies. While it looks like a pretty white highlight, at different angles, the colours change, so it’s pretty cool and pretty ~holographic~ in my world. It’s definitely buildable but, I’m not huge on the wham-bam highlight so this works for me.

In super cute and travel-friendly packaging, it’s really easy to carry around and also doubles as a setting powder.

2. Kat Von D Metal Crush Eyeshadow in Thunderstruck ($25 CAD/$21 USD, Sephora.com)

Before you ask, the answer is yes. This is an eyeshadow that I use as a highlight. If it isn’t already, I’m pretty sure it’s pretty close to cult classic status. This is super pigmented depending on what kind of brush you use to pick up the product. It’s definitely not as natural looking as the Hourglass one, but I find it to more on the white side of highlights.

While it doesn’t include a mirror, it’s definitely portable and even doubles as an inner corner highlight or, it’s actual purpose, an eyeshadow.

Concealer

fullsizeoutput_93c7
Tarte Shape Tape Concealer in Light Neutral

Tarte Shape Tape Concealer in Light Neutral ($31 CAD/$24 USD, tartecosmetics.com)

Once I heard that Tarte was restocking on this infamous concealer, I knew I had to get my hands on one. Little did I know, it would require me order 3 different shades to finally figure out which one matched me. And, while photos were researched and posted, they only did so much to help.

 

fullsizeoutput_93d3
Swatch: Tarte Shape Tape Concealer in Light Neutral

I still don’t think this is the perfect shade for me, but it’s the closest to perfection as I’ve got compared to my other shades that I also picked up. The applicator is this pretty thick doe-foot wand and a few dots are already way more than enough. It’s pretty full coverage, and if Tarte ever released this in a foundation form, I would pick it up in a heartbeat.

Lips

fullsizeoutput_93c5
KVD Everlasting Liquid Lipsticks in Ophelia & Bow N Arrow

Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Ophelia and Bow N Arrow ($24 CAD/$20 USD, Sephora.com)

I don’t think I’ll ever stop talking about these liquid lipsticks. In a previous post, I mentioned the new shade Ophelia (read the post here) and mentioned its similarity to Bow N Arrow. Well, I love both of them.

fullsizeoutput_93c4
Swatches (L-R): KVD Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Ophelia and Bow N Arrow

They’re both on the nude side of shades, and look super similar, but Ophelia has more pink it and Bow N Arrow has more brown. Both are definitely an everyday shade for me as I put away Lolita and Lolita II on days where I feel more on the ‘natural’ side of makeup.

fullsizeoutput_93c8
Bite Beauty Agave Lip Scrub & Lip Balm

Bite Beauty Agave Lip Scrub & Lip Balm ($20 CAD/$18 USD, Sephora.com)

I love Bite. There’s nothing to it. They’ve got great formulations, everything to keep your lips looking amazing and they’re made in Toronto. (hometown pride and all that) I love how moisturized and soft these two products have been making my lips. With February coming to an end, the weather is super hot and cold, one day it’ll be -25 degrees Celsius and the next day it’ll flip to 10 degrees Celsius.

With that, my lips have been going haywire with the confusion. But, thanks to these bad boys, they’re protected and super soft.

Face

fullsizeoutput_93c9
Charlotte Tilbury Instant Look Palette in Seductive Beauty

Charlotte Tilbury Instant Look In A Palette in Seductive Beauty ($85 CAD/$75 USD, charlottetilbury.com)

What a vague subject title this is, but honestly, this palette is an all-in-one. Also blogged about in the past month is this baby. (Full post and swatches here) This is the first product I’ve ever purchased from Charlotte Tilbury and I can’t wait to indulge in some more of her products as a reward for some event, when that arrives.

This is literally all I’ll ever need in life, but knowing me, I’ll pick up some other products in the future and say the exact same words. Until then, this is my go-to. While, I don’t use the blush shades, it’s a pretty versatile palette and definitely a great introduction to the brand.

Everything Else Favourite Related

fullsizeoutput_93ca
Balenciaga B Rollerball Perfume, GlamGlow FlashMud Brightening Treatment & BeautyBlender Pro Sponge

This is probably the part where I got lazy to individually shoot these last three products so I grouped them together. Nevertheless, my love for these are all evenly spread out among them.

1. Balenciaga B Rollerball Perfume ($30 CAD/$28 USD, Sephora.com)

I can never seem to fully commit to a full size bottle of perfume so I tend to stick to rollerballs. While, I do own two full sized perfumes, rollerballs are way cheaper and also portable. By purchasing rollerballs, I’m able to switch up my scent more often without having to work towards finishing one bottle and moving onto another one before its ‘best before’ due date.

This is one of the scents that I always wanted to get a full size in, but by the time I thought I was ready to commit, I had moved on and found another shade that I liked. The scent itself is florally and fresh. With notes of lily of the valley and cashmeran wood, it’s the perfect scent for Spring. I find the scent to be fairly light, so it’s great for an everyday perfume and doesn’t cause any headaches.

2. BeautyBlender ($28 CAD/$20 USD, Sephora.com)

I don’t have a specific BeautyBlender that I prefer. While, I also own the original pink one, it was dirty so I decided to exempt it from this photo. I never thought I would ever need a BeautyBlender until I actually tried it. It’s got such a good density, it’s squishy, yet dense. I haven’t tried many makeup sponges to compare this to, but I love how much fun it is to apply products onto my face with this.

3. GlamGlow FlashMud Brightening Treatment ($24 CAD (travel size), $79 CAD (full size)/$22 USD (travel size), $69 USD (full size), Sephora.com)

fullsizeoutput_93cb
GlamGlow FlashMud Brightening Treatment

I tried a few samples of this and fell in love. I love the sweet orange scent and that it exfoliates my skin. I only purchased the small travel size since I’m not completely set on splurging for a full size yet. But you don’t need a lot for it to do the trick.

My acne scars have been irritating me to no end, and I find that this works really well for lightening them up. While its recommended to leave it on for a minimum of 20 minutes, I actually go to bed with it on about twice a week and find that it’s really helped with getting rid of my acne scars.

Book

fullsizeoutput_93cc
‘Milk and Honey’ by Rupi Kaur

Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur ($22.25 CAD (Hardcover) $11.02 CAD (Paperback))

This is possibly one of the most Instagrammed book ever. I literally see it everywhere on social media, thus, lead to me finally picking up a copy. Good thing I did, because I’m absolutely obsessed. I finally tracked down a copy of the hardcover version and I’m so happy with it. Not only is it empowering at times, but it also calms me down during stressful times or when I get way into my head from time to time. I thought I’d share with you some of my favourite poems that I’ve come across so far. I’m trying to slowly get through this book instead of going through it all at once.

fullsizeoutput_93d1fullsizeoutput_93d0fullsizeoutput_93cffullsizeoutput_93cefullsizeoutput_93cd

With that, I’ll bid you adieu. School is winding down and I really can’t wait to get back into posting on a regular basis. It’s been a long ride but I’m finally graduating and cannot be more ecstatic about that! If you’ve read my post all the way to here, thank you for listening to me ramble on about products that I really liked in February.

Are there any February favourites you really enjoyed?

 

 

2 thoughts on “February Favourites || 2017

Leave a Reply

