That Prismatic Amethyst Glow || Becca Cosmetics

I must admit, I’m late to this whole holographic-prismatic-esque highlighter game, but it’s never too late to join, right? I must admit, with my increase in H2O intake and my skin getting better, it’s instilled a new confidence in me to try new things and to take more risks when it comes to beauty.

Thus, when Becca launched their new pressed Shimmering Skin Perfector in ‘Prismatic Amethyst‘, I knew I had to get my hands on it. Not only is it a shade that I don’t own in my collection at all, but I also highly regret not picking up the ‘Rose Quartz’ shade that they launched last year and did not want to pass up the opportunity to pick this one up. The highlighter retails for $46 CAD/$38 USD at Sephora.

fullsizeoutput_9424
Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed in Prismatic Amethyst, $46 CAD/$37 USD (Sephora.com)

Prior to this Becca highlighter, I only owned the Champagne Split of Prosecco Pop and Amaretto, (I ended up giving this away since I barely touched it) and a travel size of the Shimmering Skin Perfector liquid in Moonstone. I know Becca is known for their ‘wham-bam’ types of highlighters, so I wasn’t too sure if I was ready to commit to that kind of highlight, as I’m more of a ‘subtle-natural’ highlighter kind of girl. But, this highlighter has definitely changed my mind.

fullsizeoutput_9421
Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed in Prismatic Amethyst, $46 CAD/$38 USD (Sephora.com)

The ‘Prismatic Amethyst’ highlighter comes in the signature Becca packaging, but instead of their standard brown packaging with silver crest, this highlighter comes in a metallic lavender casing with silver crest. A difference between these limited edition highlights compared to the permanent ones are that the palette itself has a prism-esque 3D detailing instead of just a flat surface.

fullsizeoutput_9422
Comparison swatches (L-R): Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed in Prismatic Amethyst, MAC Mineralize Skinfinish in Soft N Gentle, Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Ethereal Light, KVD Metal Crush Eyeshadow in Thunderstruck

Upon swatching, first thing I noticed was how a little went a long way and how finely milled the powder was. Even with an increase in pressure when swatching barely made a dent in the 3D detailing, which, I’m all for. It definitely means that I’ll be able to have this product last a longer than hitting pan anytime soon.

fullsizeoutput_93ff
Brushes used for testing: Sigma F03 High Cheekbone Highlighter, Luxie 560 Medium Fan

To continue my testing, I moved onto two different types of application: a fan brush vs. a highlighter brush. I applied the highlight to my cheekbone and under my brow bone. In the mirror, the fan brush application looked like my highlighter was a lot more intense than the application with the highlighter brush, but the photos say otherwise. This is about the part where I realized that the Becca highlighters weren’t all ‘wham-bam’ at all, but varied based on the application type.

While, I’m more about the subtle highlight, I definitely wouldn’t mind having a more adventurous and out there highlight for special occasions. I definitely look forward to picking up more Becca highlighters in the future, but I should probably hit pan on one of them first.

fullsizeoutput_941e
Comparison products and Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed

What are your thoughts on this highlighter? Would you pick it up?

Leave a Reply

