What’s in My Makeup Travel Bag || HWong’s Travels

Lo and behold, the time has finally come. It’s been about a month since I’ve returned by Asia, and I’m finally slowly getting myself back into blogging. During the time I’ve been away, I finally finished my undergrad and embarked on an adventure to the other side of the world. I’ve never visited Japan and haven’t been back to Hong Kong (you can check out photos from my trip here) in the past 7 years, so what more of a reason did I have to go back?

fullsizeoutput_a9c3
Majority of the makeup and beauty products I brought along on my travels

When it came to packing my makeup bag, I could only think of what I would actually use and had to remember the humidity and increase in temperature that would come with a visit to Asia. I finally narrowed it down to my NYX makeup bag, so be ready for this long post.

These are all the products I brought with me to Asia:

FACE

fullsizeoutput_a9c8
Products (L-R): Marc Jacobs O!Mega Bronze, NARS Blush Duo, Tarte 12-Hour Blush, Kat Von D Metal Crush Eyeshadow, Tarte Double Duty Powder Foundation

Marc Jacobs O!Mega Bronze in 104 Tan-tastic! (Limited Edition $59 CAD, sephora.ca)
I was pining for this bronzer since I laid my eyes on it and was upset to find out that it sold out super fast and I couldn’t pick one up. Luckily, my local Sephora had one more in stock and of course I had to get it. I’ve been looking for a new bronzer to try out besides my usual Nars Laguna bronzer and this one caught my eye. It’s such a big pan and the mirror is such a generous size, plus, it smells like coconuts! I love how buildable it is and how sleek the packaging is.

NARS Blush Duo in Hot Sand/Laguna ($54 CAD, sephora.ca/narscosmetics.com)
One of my all time favourites and literally the only bronzer I own (until now!), I had to have a duo version of this so it’d be easier for travelling. Hot Sand is a beautiful highlighter and is definitely in my ‘subtle highlight’ category. I love that Nars came out with a bronzer/highlighter duo since most companies launch a bronzer/blush duo, and I don’t wear blush.

Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Blissful ($35 CAD, sephora.ca/tartecosmetics.com)
I’ve owned this blush for so long and recently pulled it back out for days when my bronzer and highlighter don’t want to work for me. It’s such a nice wash of colour for my pale skin and can definitely be built upon for more of a rosy cheek.

Kat Von D Metal Crush Eyeshadow in Thunderstruck ($25 CAD, sephora.ca)
I was so upset to find my favourite highlighter broken (you see that it’s been pressed back in the photo). While this is an eyeshadow, I’ve actually never used it as one. It works really well as a highlighter and can definitely get way too intense if you get too much product. It’s such a nice icy white that I know I’ll definitely be picking up another one.

Tarte Double Duty Beauty Powder Foundation in Light Neutral ($46 CAD, tartecosmetics.com)
I picked this up back when Tarte had their Friends and Family sale since I needed a pressed powder for on-the-go touch ups. It gives a light-to-medium finish and keeps my face matte all day.

CONCEALERS/SETTING POWDERS

fullsizeoutput_a9cb
Products (L-R): Kat Von D Lock-It Concealer, Tarte Shape Tape Concealer, Bésame Cosmetics Setting Powder

Kat Von D Lock-It Crème Concealer in M27 Warm ($34 CAD, sephora.ca)
I picked this last September when it first launched and I still had my leftover tan from the summer. I hadn’t been able to reach for it until about my 2nd week in Asia since I got some colour in me from then. I really like the consistency of this and it doesn’t make me look cakey and lasts super long. It also worked really well since I could mix this and my Tarte concealer together to get my actual shade.

Tarte Shape Tape Concealer in Light-Neutral ($31 CAD, tartecosmetics.com)
I jumped on the band wagon and picked this up along with the Double Duty Beauty powder (mentioned above) back during their Family and Friends sale, which, luckily they had my shade.

Bésame Cosmetics Brightening Setting Powder in Vanilla ($27 CAD, sephora.ca)
This is such a nice smelling powder and it does the job on the daily. I use it as a setting powder around my eyelids and under the eyes as my eyes tend to get oily throughout the day. It just keeps the oil away and comes in a very portable container.

EYES

fullsizeoutput_a9cc
Products (L-R): Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Powder Duo, Benefit Goof Proof Brow Pencil

Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Powder Duo in Ebony ($30 CAD, sephora.ca)
I recently started getting into brow powders and I don’t know what took me so long! I find these are so much quicker when filling in brows and ensuring that the product evenly covers your whole brow and even the sparse areas are well filled out. I’ve barely made a dent in this powder and it’s been over a month!

Benefit Cosmetics Goof Proof Brow Pencil in 06 Deep ($32 CAD, sephora.ca)
I love that there’s a spoolie at one end and a twist up pencil on the other. It makes it so much easier for me to lightly fill in my brows if I’m ever in a rush and don’t even have time to use the powder. The pencil is so easy to use and ensures that my brows are super precise, it even makes them look like they’re sisters and not long-distance relatives!

fullsizeoutput_a9cd
Products (L-R): Tarte Lights, Camera, Splashes Mascara, Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler

Tarte Lights, Camera, Splashes Waterproof Mascara ($27 CAD, sephora.ca/tartecosmetics.com)
Forever my go-to mascara, I always stock up on this mascara because it gives me the volume and length that I love, plus it holds my curl like no other. It’s also the most waterproof mascara I’ve ever used, so whenever Tarte has a sale, I always make sure to pick up this mascara!

Shu Uemura Eyelash Curler ($25 CAD, sephora.ca)
Currently the only eyelash curler that actually fits the shape of my eye nicely, I full on believe that an eyelash curler has to fit the eye shape well for a curl to look good and for it to add to your whole look. This eyelash curler hasn’t strewn me in the wrong direction yet, so I’ll definitely keep up with the purchasing of this in the future. I’m already on my third one!

MAKE UP REMOVERS/FACE MISTS

fullsizeoutput_a9ca
Products (L-R): Tatcha Luminous Skin Mist, NIU BODY Makeup Remover Wipes, MAC Fix+, Too Faced Mascara Melt Off Cleansing Oil

Tatcha Luminous Dewy Skin Mist ($58 CAD, sephora.ca)
I got this in one of their sets during the holiday and knew it would be in my bag when it came to travelling. It kept my face super hydrated and feeling refreshed, even though I was sweating pretty much everyday. It smells so nice and is super travel-friendly!

NIU BODY Coconut Oil Makeup Remover Wipes for Combination Skin ($15 USD, niubody.com)
Carrying these made it so much easier than having to worry if my cleansing oil or makeup remover would spill all over my luggage and many ziploc bags. These come in a container of 25 pads, which, was perfect for me since I was travelling for 21 days and give or take a few times I’d use more than one to remove my makeup (which was not often), I’d be done the whole container by the end of my trip, thus leaving me with more space to buy more stuff! I’ve mentioned these before, they’re super gentle and are so nourishing for your skin. I love that they have 4 different ones for your skin type and how travel friendly they are.

MAC Prep + Prime Fix+ ($28 CAD, maccosmetics.ca)
How could one ever live without Fix+?! This baby made sure that my face stayed as matte as possible on days I didn’t feel for the dewy and luminous look and that it kept my makeup on without my sweat wiping it all off. Definitely a must-have when travelling!

Too Faced Mascara Melt Off Cleansing Oil ($22 CAD, sephora.ca)
For those days where I only had to remove my mascara, this was a godsend. It kept my brows and face makeup intact with me only having to remove my eye makeup just so I could fix it right up after. I received a sample travel size and will definitely be picking up the full size!

BRUSHES

IMG_0230
Products (L-R): Sigma F05 Small Contour, Crown C247 Tapered Duo Fibre, Sigma F80 Flat Kabuki, Luxie 502 Large Powder, Sigma P84 Precision Angled

Sigma Beauty F05 Small Contour Brush ($22 USD, sigmabeauty.com)
I have been loving these small contour brushes for applying contour or bronzer on my cheeks, I find them a lot easier to control than with the soft angled contour brush I was using prior. This brush also made it a lot easier for me to concentrate on certain areas of my face instead of a larger area that my previous brush covered. I can also use this brush for many different functions besides just bronzer.

Crown Brushes C427 Tapered Duo Fibre Blush ($9.49 USD, crownbrush.com)
I’ve been loving how buildable this brush made my highlight. It has such a comfortable handle to hold and picks up enough product that your highlight shows but can definitely be built upon based on your preference.

Sigma Beauty F80 Flat Kabuki Brush ($25 USD, sigmabeauty.com)
I’ve been loving the technique of just dabbing in the product until it’s well blended. I find that this works better for me instead of dragging my brush along my face. I found that to take out more product from places that I wanted more coverage. This brush is dense enough and has a weight to it that it made it a lot easier for me to blend in product into my skin without feeling like I was punching myself in the face every time I was applying a product.

Luxie Beauty Large Powder Face Brush 502 ($23.45 USD, luxiebeauty.com)
I absolutely love this brush, it’s so big, soft and fluffy. It made applying powder to my face quick and easy, only taking about 30 seconds for me to finish my routine. Plus, it’s cruelty free, which makes me love it even more!

Sigma Beauty P84 Precision Angled Brush ($8.00 USDsigmabeauty.com)
I mostly used this when I wanted a more intense and precise contour on my nose, otherwise I usually just used the F05 Small Contour brush so it looked more natural. The density of this brush makes it a lot easier to control in areas that a more intense contour was wanted. It’s also currently on sale right now, so why not add one to your collection.

There we have it! My super long, possibly boring post on what I brought to Asia with me! I knew I wouldn’t be wearing eyeshadow at all, so I didn’t bring any with me and tried to keep it as simple as possible, since I knew that I could just buy everything there or would end up buying products there.

What are some of your travel essentials? Where are some places that you’ve loved to visit?

Leave a Reply

