Current Nighttime Routine

If there’s something you’ll take from watching my very pointless and long Snapchat Stories, it’s the fact that I’m never one to sleep early. I’ve always been the one that stays up late at night even when I know that I’ve got an early day tomorrow.

fullsizeoutput_aae1
Nighttime skincare routine products!

Don’t get me wrong, I love my sleep but as a night owl, I also like to make sure my skin gets the most pampering that it can get before I snooze away. Thank goodness for the weekend coming up because that’s all I plan on doing this weekend! With the help of the Leesa, an online mattress company, I’m able get the best sleep of my life. Here is an updated nighttime routine that I’ve been sticking to for the past few months, and I have to say, I’ve noticed a huge decrease in the amount of breakouts I used to get.

CLEANSE

I’m a big double cleanser, I like knowing that all my traces of oil or makeup have been fully removed from my face and that I’m preparing my skin for the upcoming serums and creams.

fullsizeoutput_aae8
shu uemura Cleansing Beauty Oil Premium A/I

shu uemura Cleansing Beauty Oil Premium A/I ($44 CAD, sephora.ca)
This is the fifth cleansing oil I’ve tried from shu uemura. I’m slowly making my way through testing out all of the them. While this isn’t my favourite one that I’ve tried out so far, I do really enjoy how the cleansing oils from shu uemura don’t leave my skin feeling like there’s some sort of film on top of them. They all have a nice subtle scent and while I like some of the scents over the other, they’re all tolerable for me. You really don’t need to use too many pumps, one is enough for me on a daily basis but if I wear some concealer or eyeshadow, I’ll use two pumps. The locking mechanism on the bottle is also a plus for me, it makes it so much easier to travel around without having to worry that it’ll spill if something falls on top of it.

Dr. Jart+ Dermaclear Micro Foam Cleanser ($28 CAD, sephora.ca)
I purchased this based on the reviews and the fact that it was under $30. I barely even need a dime-size of this to cover my whole face, since it’s a cleanser it’s really gentle. I really enjoy the fact that I don’t need to use a lot but I feel like this dries out my skin. Although this feels like it dries out my skin, I add hydrating products afterwards to help replenish the skin and to ensure that it gets the moisture and hydration it needs. I was never one to believe a cleanser could contribute to getting rid of acne since it doesn’t spend that much time on the skin, but after adding this to my routine, I feel like it’s helped lessen the amount of breakouts I get.

fullsizeoutput_aad9
Dr. Jart+ Dermaclear Micro Foam Cleanser & The Ordinary Acids/Serums

ACIDS/SERUMS

fullsizeoutput_aaec
The Ordinary Glycolic Acid 7% Toning Solution

The Ordinary Glycolic Acid 7% Toning Solution ($8.70 CAD, theordinary.com)
I’ve mentioned this brand in a previous article on my experience with the brand and my collection and purchases from the brand have only grown. Not only are they very reasonably priced, the packaging is also so simple and easy to travel with (those glass bottles are basically unbreakable!) I love that they launched this glycolic acid because I was looking for something not as strong as the Pixi Glow Peel Pads so I could use this every other day and not freak out my skin with the Peel Pads. The bottle itself comes sealed in a cap lid and a second lid is included to allow you to squirt the product onto cotton rounds. I found it almost impossible to undo the cap lid but finally managed to switch the caps over and now I refuse to ever undo the lid ever again.

I stick to using this when I’m too tired to wait the 2-3 minutes with a Peel Pad on to wash off. With this, I can just apply it to my face and go straight to bed and just wash it off in the morning since it’s not as strong.

fullsizeoutput_aaee
The Ordinary Lactic Acid 5% + HA 2% & Alpha Arbutin 2% + HA

The Ordinary Lactic Acid 5% + HA 2% ($6.50 CAD, theordinary.com)
I’m almost done this and I can’t wait to pick up another one. It works great as an alternative to the glycolic acid and when my skin feels like it needs the hydration. With the 2% Hyaluronic Acid, my skin feels moisturized while the lactic acid penetrates into my skin to help keep it safe from bacteria and acne that may want to begin forming. I’m currently debating between the stronger 10% and the 5% mild exfoliation one that I’m almost done using. I may test out the 10% and if it’s too strong, switch back to the 5%.

The Ordinary Alpha Arbutin 2% + HA ($8.90 CAD, theordinary.com)
I’ve finally finished this one and I already have a backup ready. Not only does this help with reducing the look of spots and hyperpigmentation, it also adds even more hydration to my skin. I found this combo with the lactic acid and alpha arbutin to be effective on my skin and so far my skin seems to like it. I’ll definitely be continuing to use these two together.

The Ordinary AHA 30% + BHA 2% Peeling Solution ($7.20 CAD, beautylish.com)
I was dying to get my hands on this when it first launched and while it’s on the Canadian site for The Ordinary, it’s not available to ship here. This lead me to picking it up from Beautylish who started carrying The Ordinary. Thank goodness they were able to ship to Canada and keep the same prices! Happily, I was able to test this out, and while I don’t use this 2-3 times a week, I usually try for at least once a week. It smells a bit sour but its nothing that bothers me too much. You look pretty crazy when you have it on since it’s a red/berry coloured mask but it doesn’t stain so it just adds to the fun of face masks.

This concludes my updated nighttime routine! Hope you enjoyed reading, I would love to hear what some of the products you’ve been using and loving are!

fullsizeoutput_aad7
fullsizeoutput_aad6
fullsizeoutput_aad8

2 thoughts on “Current Nighttime Routine

Leave a Reply

